Macao » Rules » Proffesor card

Author: Marcul01
Yesterday I played Macao again and I tried for the first time a new strategy: focusing on buying pp with with gold. I activated around turn 7 the professor card which helped me a lot with it.
The cards description is as following:
"You receive 1 Gold for each dice showing a "1" you pick."
My question is about the later rounds in the game were more and more dice are turned to a "1". We played that whenever I picked a dice with a "1" I got a gold. So we did not distinguish between a dice that showed "1" after throwing, or a dice that showed for example "5" after throwing, but was turned to a "1". It soon turned out that the professor was a very powerful card at the end of the game since at that point there are a lot of dice with "1" to pick.
Like I said before this time I was not focusing on shipping as I did before, but focusing on making money to buy pp.
I had 2 justice cards (and a 3th on in the last round)and the the judge (which gives one extra gold if you activate one of the justice cards) I also got the blue lady, which gives every round a free blue cube that can be used for getting gold with the justice cards. And Finally I got the building (I think it was the embassy, but I am not sure) that gave 2 pp extra every time you buy PP for gold. Next to the justice cards I also had 1 construction card. From round 6 I was almost every round able to buy pp for gold (and got the also 2 pp extra), mainly because of the flow of blue cubes and later on the professor. Ofcourse it also helped that the ratio was a few times quite good and I could buy 6-8 pp for 3 or 4 gold (especial considering that I got two gold for free every round with the blue lady, justice, judge combo). I only shipped 4 items: 2 paper (I got the paper storage as well), 1 rice (for 2 pp only) and 1 tea. I got 7 districts on the end, but all in one chain because I was not so much concerned about the type of goods (except for the paper) since shipping was just a side business.
I realize now that my question is now ending up like a session report, but I still wonder if I used the professor correct, because the last turns I got even more money in then that I could spend for prestige.
I also have to note that I really enjoy this game every time that I play it and that I really like how different strategies can work depending on the cards you manage to activate.
Sat Dec 8, 2012 1:15 pm
Author: rocksnrolls
In the rules it says " the 8th round all rolled 6s are turned directly to the 1; in the 9th round all 5s and 6s are turned to 1s"etc. If it said they only were treated as ones that would go against your interpretation, but as worded I think you were correct in how you played it.

Sat Dec 8, 2012 1:39 pm
Author: snoozefest
You realize that you still only pick 2 dice each turn, right? So the professor earns you at most 2 coins/turn?
Sat Dec 8, 2012 1:56 pm
Author: Mamadallama
As snoozefest says, even if all dice are 1's, you can only pick 2 different colors so you would get 2 coins plus whatever you receive for your other cards.
Sat Dec 8, 2012 3:29 pm
Author: Marcul01
Yes, I did realize that I still could only pick 2 dice per turn, but since on the later turns there is more and more change to choose a "1", the professor card gets really strong then. This in combination with the gold that I got from the Justice, Judge, Blue lady combo gave me a minimum income of around 3 gold per turn (and yes, I know that the extra gold that the judge give is only once per turn and not for both the justice cards that I got).
Sat Dec 8, 2012 4:39 pm
Author: davypi
I think your question has been answered correctly, but just a few comments:

If I remember correctly, the Professor is one of the few cards that require four colors to activate. Because of the difficulty in getting them off the tableau, they are often crazy powerful cards. The gold income in the late game offsets both its cost and the fact that you probably use it less frequently if you actually get it activated in the early game.

the last turns I got even more money in then that I could spend for prestige

This is very common with gold heavy strategies, espically if get into the 3+ gold/turn level. I recently had a game where I finally pulled off the pub/host combo on turn nine and another card giving a free gold, for a net 4GP per turn. I think I ended the game with 7GP leftover because I couldn't spend it fast enough.
Sat Dec 8, 2012 6:33 pm
Author: Marcul01
You only need two different colors for the professor: 2 blue and 2 black. The researcher and the master do cost 4 different colors, but in the 5 games that I played until now (I only own the game since about a month) I never activated a card that needed more then 3 colors.
The professor really suited my gold strategy yesterday and as said before the last rounds there are plenty of opportunities to choose a dice with shows "1".
Sat Dec 8, 2012 7:40 pm