7 Wonders » Rules » How does adjacency work in the two player variant?

Author: Yostage
In the two player rules, are all three players still adjacent? Or does each player just have a single neighbor (the free city)?
Thu Dec 27, 2012 3:25 am
Author: SlebRittie
You're all adjacent. Why wouldn't you be?
Thu Dec 27, 2012 3:59 am
Author: Yostage
Fair enough. I think the border card confused me.
Thu Dec 27, 2012 4:20 am
Author: TGCRequiem
No, the border indicates that nobody is to that side. You only fight against the AI character that you alternate for. That's why two player isn't as fun as the game with more players.
Thu Dec 27, 2012 4:35 am
Author: notyetsuperman
I was given the impression you interact with your opponent as well as the "AI" wonder/civ.

The border card is used to prevent cards from being passed left/ right and instead just exchanged with your opponent.

I suppose there is some ambiguity. We don't play this with two players and BGG voters recommend the same.  So I may not sought the answers as diligently so I am open to explanation.
Thu Dec 27, 2012 8:52 am
Author: I Eat Tables
Personally I find the 2 player variant quite fun, it's a lot more tactical than with 4+ players, although less so than with 3.

Anyway, yes, in two player you have two neighbours: One being your opponent, the other being the Free City, which you will be alternating control of.
Fri Dec 28, 2012 1:08 am