Search: Titles Only:
Article Edit | History | Editors

Eketorp FAQ

Rules Q&A for Eketorp

These answers were collected from rules questions in the forums and the rules.

List of game FAQs

Filling Resources

Q. Are new bricks added even if there are some left?
A. Yes. New bricks are added to the area based on this round's resource card, possibly adding to bricks that are already there.

Placing Vikings

Q. How many vikings can be placed per space?
A. Each siege location (3 per fortress) can only hold one of your vikings, but you may put multiple vikings onto resources spaces and your own fortress.

Resolving Battles

Q. What order do battles happen.
A. From the starting player and going around the table, each player picks a single battle that their vikings are involved in, picks a single opponent to fight, and triggers a battle between those two vikings. After that battle, the next person chooses a fight. All battles are between exactly two vikings.
(note. A defender cannot trigger a siege)

Q. How is a battle resolved?
A. Both players secretly choose a card from their hand and reveal them together. The highest card wins and the lowest card viking is taken to hospital. If there is a draw, both vikings go to hospital in the 0 space. The players then exchange the cards they played. The exchanged cards are placed face down next to the player fortresses.

Q. Which hospital space is used?
A. The hospital spaces are marked with numbers. If you play a card which is 2 lower than the winner (3 vs 5), put your viking into the space with a 2.

Q. When do players get their cards back?
A. When they have no remaining cards in their hand.

Resource Areas

Q. What happens if there are more or the same number of blocks as vikings in a resource space?
A. Every viking gets exactly one block. All the blocks in an area are the same.

Q. What happens when there are more vikings than blocks, but they all belong to the same player?
A. That player receives all available blocks, there is no battle.

Q. What happens if there are fewer blocks that vikings.
A. Battles! On their turn, a player with a viking in that space can choose to start a battle by picking one other viking to challenge. After the battle, one or both of the vikings will be removed to hospital. This happens until there are the same or fewer vikings than bricks.

Drawing new Cards

Q. When can cards be drawn as replacements?
A. Immediately before a battle, a player can choose to exchange all the cards currently in their hand for new ones from the deck. This costs as many amulets as cards are exchanged. If they do not have enough amulets, they cannot replace any cards.

Q. Can a player choose to exchange only some cards?
A. No, all the cards currently in their hand must be exchanged.

Resolving a Siege

Q. When can a siege be resolved?
A. When there is only one Viking left outside the fort. If there are multiple vikings outside the fort, they must first battle amongst themselves.

Q. Can the defender choose to start a siege battle?
A. No, the siege must be started by the attacking player on their turn.

Q. Can the defender choose not to fight?
A. No. If there is a defending viking, he must fight.

Q. Can a defender fight multiple battles?
A. If he is still in the fortress (ie not wounded) after a previous battle, he will fight again.

Q. What happens if there are no defending Vikings inside a fortress?
A. The player who owns the fortress must still choose a card to play and this is exchanged as normal, but it counts as value 0 in the battle. The defending player does not send any viking to the hospital but they will probably lose many blocks.

Q. What happens if a siege happens on a side that has no blocks?
A. The battle is resolved as normal including the exchange of cards and vikings placed in hospital.

Q. What happens to the defender if they lose the siege battle?
A. Their viking is moved to the field hospital into the space matching their loss margin and then immediately moved closer to the exit by one space. If it was a draw, the defender will be in the final hospital space while the attacked is in the 0 space.

Q. If the attacker wins, what blocks can they remove?
A. The attacked can remove blocks from the two sides of the fortress nearest the attacking space up to a total points value of the winning margin in the battle. Blocks must be taken from the top of a pile first. If you win by three points, you cannot remove a stone block (4pts), or a grass block which is under it.

Q. How many blocks can the attacker keep for their own fortress?
A. The attacked may take exactly one of the removed blocks back to their own fortress. All others are returned to supply.

Q. Can a successful attacker attack again?
A. No. Each of the three sides of the fortress can only have one seige fought there. If the attacker wins, they may not fight again this turn.

Building your Fortress

Q. Where can I place blocks I have gained this turn?
A. You may place them on any of the 6 sides of your fortress in any order but no pile may be more than 3 blocks high.

Q. Can blocks be moved once placed?
A. No. No type of blocks can be moved once they are placed except when a siege is lost.

Taking Vikings Back

Q. Do vikings I placed in my fortress come back?
A. Yes. All vikings who were not wounded in battle return to you to be placed in the next round.

Q. When are vikings returned from hospital?
A. At the end of each turn, vikings are moved up one hospital space. The vikings who are moved out of the topmost hospital space (with the drinking viking) are returned to their owner.

End of the Game

Q. Are extra bricks counted if you have a full 18-brick fortress?
A. Yes. Extra bricks are counted

Q. Is there a tie-breaker?
A. No. Players with the same score rejoice in their shared viking.

[What Links Here]
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.