$10.00
Search: Titles Only:
Article Edit | History | Editors

Friedrich FAQ

FAQ
FAQ for Friedrich

Info taken from FAQs in file area and various forum threads, consolidated into a Wiki page so that people can more easily find all the info in one place and update it.
List of game FAQs

OFFICIAL WEBSITE

http://www.histogame.de/e_download.html has downloads of the rules, official FAQ, 2-player variant, etc.

1 INTRODUCTION

Object of the game

Don't confuse nations and players - the same player can control 2 nations. A player wins if any of his countries achieve their objectives.

The rules don't explicitly define "hostile" and "enemy". There are 2 groups: (Hanover, Prussia) and (Russia, Sweden, Austria, Imperial Army, France). No nations within the same group are hostile/enemy with each other, and each nation from one group is hostile/enemy with each nation from the other group.
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/973985#973985

The Prussian objective cities are used in the expert game only.

The playing pieces

Note that just because a nation has no pieces on the map does not mean they are eliminated or don't do a turn as usual.

The map

Austria’s objective cities are grey. All others are flagged in the color of that country’s pieces.

All dark blue areas (including all exclaves) are the home country of Prussia. All light blue areas are the home country of Hanover.

Russia and France have no home country.

The home country of the Imperial Army is all yellow territories, including Sachsen (Saxony).

There is no city which is both an Objective and a Depot.

2 SEQUENCE OF PLAY

In a turn, you go nation by nation. Prussia draws cards, moves, attacks, checks supply. Then Hanover, then Russia, then Sweden, etc. France acts last in a turn, then you do the end of turn stuff (victory check, fate card).

3 TACTICAL CARDS (TC)

Prussia receives 7 TC per turn, Hanover 2, and Austria 5, unless reduced by certain Cards of Fate.

France receives 4 TC, but must discard one of these immediately (French player's choice; the player does not show this card to anyone). There is a Card of Fate that reduces the French draw to 3 TC, and then France can keep all 3 of them.

Nations never mix or exchange their TCs, even nations of the same player. Keep each nation's hand separate.

The discard piles are face down and may not be examined.
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/129199/discard-face-up-or-down-

If all 4 decks run out, start reshuffling the 2 largest discard piles to make a new deck.

If all decks run out and there are no discard piles, it is suggested to add a 5th deck (using ordinary playing cards).
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/326784/

If you wonder why Reserve cards can be 1-10, and why anyone would ever use it for less than 10, read the strategy forum. :)

4 MOVEMENT

You must complete one piece's movement before moving another piece.

Units can not move through or jump over other pieces, even of the same nation.

The only time more than 1 piece can be in the same space is if you move a general into a city with another general of the same nation. The entire stack can move no more this turn (including generals that hadn't yet moved). Such a stack can have up to 3 generals (and therefore up to 24 armies).

The identities of the lower generals in a stack are not secret.
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/78740/stacks

A unit does not have to stop just because it moved adjacent to another nation's piece, even an enemy piece.

5 CONQUEST OF OBJECTIVES

Only generals can conquer. Supply trains never conquer.

The conquest happens (and the placement of the conquest marker) only when the general leaves the city. Moving into a city and stopping does not conquer it.

A Hanover or Prussia general within 3 spaces of an objective city in his home country protects it from conquest. (A Hanover general does not protect objectives in Prussia! A Prussia general does not protect objectives in Hanover.) Intervening generals along that path are irrelevant.

E.g. the French objective in Minden is not protected by a Hanover general, since Minden is in the Prussian enclave Ravensburg!
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/2022865#2022865

Prussian generals can reconquer Imperial and Austrian objectives in Sachsen. (In addition to all objectives in Prussian territory, of course.)

Supply trains do not protect objectives, except the Imperial Army's supply train protects Imperial objectives from being reconquered by Prussia.

The supply train of the Imperial Army protects objectives like a general.

6 THE ARMIES

Army sheets are secret.

Each general on the map must have between 1 and 8 armies.

You may never simply eliminate one of your generals (or supply trains).
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/131197/removing-pieces-voluntarily

A nation cannot have more armies in play than its starting number.

7 COMBAT

Whichever player has the current difference (armies + value of cards played) against them has "the right to play". They can keep playing cards as long as the difference is against them. Once the difference reaches 0 or positive (so the difference is no longer against them), then the other player receives "the right to play".

During combat, if the score reaches zero, the "player with the right to play" must play a card if he has any of the correct suit.

If combat starts with a score of zero, the active player receives "the right to play" a card (and must play the correct suit if they have such a card).

Only the "player with the right to play" may end the combat, by not playing a card. You never have to play a card, unless the difference is 0 and you have a card of the suit of your general's sector.

The loser must lose the difference in armies from their stack. If there are fewer armies left than generals, then eliminate the excess general(s), starting with the lowest-ranked (highest printed number) general.
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/320001/stack-retreat-question

If the combat ends with a difference of 0 (because the "player with the right to play" has no card of the correct suit), then it was a draw and neither general retreats or loses armies.

A general who had to retreat may not attack or be attacked again in that combat phase.

8 RETREAT

The combat winner picks the retreat path!

A retreating piece must:

  • retreat the full distance (i.e. the final combat difference)
  • finish as far as possible from the victorious general
  • never reenter a city during the retreat
  • never enter a city with any other piece (general or supply train)

9 SUPPLY

Supply for a nation is checked only at the end of that nation's turn.

Being out of supply flips a general over, but has no other effect on the general (it can still move, conquer, fight, receive more armies, etc). If the general is already flipped over (from being out of supply the previous turn or due to a card of fate), then the general is eliminated.

A general is in supply in his home country (or in one of his depot cities, in the case of Russia and France).

A general is in supply if there's a path of no more than 6 steps to a supply train that doesn't have enemy pieces on it.

In all other cases (not in their home country or not in their depot, not within 6 of a supply train), the general is out of supply.

Merely being within 6 spaces of his depot does not mean a general is in supply.

10 RECRUITMENT

Recruiting happens during the movement phase (so before combat).

You don't receive change for excess payment, but you can purchase several armies and/or supply trains with a single group of cards.

You must reveal the cards used for purchase before you discard them.

Write the recruited armies on your secret sheet; you don't reveal which generals receive the new armies, only how many armies you recruited. They can be assigned to any general in play (regardless of where they are on the map or their supply status), or to a new general being brought into play.

The cost is 6 per army or supply train, unless all your depots are occupied; then it's 8.

Bringing a defeated general back into play is free, but he must be brought back with at least newly purchased one army (which costs 6, or 8 if all your depots are occupied), on a friendly depot.

A single depot cannot have a new supply train and a new general built, but it could have a stack of several generals built.

Pieces (generals and supply trains) may not move in the movement phase they re-enter.

A newly re-entered piece might then have to attack in combat if an enemy piece was adjacent to their re-entry city.
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/121024/attacking-a-newly-placed-general

If all your depots are occupied, see the rules about details where your generals and supply trains can be brought back into play. In this case, each unit costs 8 instead of 6.

11 THE CLOCK OF FATE

Don't turn a fate card on the first 5 turns.

In the standard game, read the spades paragraph on the Cards of Fate.

There are 2 cards which must both be played for France to leave the game.

If France drops out (but not both Russia and Sweden yet), the French player takes control of the Imperial Army.

If Russia and Sweden drops out (but not France yet), the Russia/Sweden player takes control of the Imperial Army.

If France, Russia, and Sweden all drop out, Prussia wins the game.

If Russia has dropped out, control of 1st order objectives is sufficient for a Swedish victory.

If the Imperial Army has switched players, control of 1st order objectives is sufficient for an Austrian and/or Imperial Army victory.

Probabilities of 6th stroke of fate card appearing on given turns:
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/98742
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/90333

Fate card explanations

All cards which say that a general "may not attack" mean that this general may not move into a position adjacent to an enemy general (or reenter the game on a depot city adjacent to an enemy general). If the general is adjacent to an enemy at the start of his move, he must move away. If that's not possible, then there is no combat.
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/793580#793580

Some cards of fate call for the removal of a general from the GAME. Don't confuse "off the map" and "out of the game". This general is out of the game permanently. The removed general can be an off-map general.
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/717592#717592

If a card of fate removes a general from the game, he can distribute his armies to others in his stack (if he is stacked, up to the usual limit of 8 per general), and any undistributed armies are lost.
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/87341/

Card 1: "Austria and Russia may exchange one TC with each other." No negotiations, just give each other a card. If either player doesn't want to, no exchange takes place.
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/399216/questions-about-fate-cards-1-7-10

Card 6 "Austria may move Laudon by one city immediately; Laudon may even unstack." This does not trigger combat if Laudon moves adjacent to an enemy stack. But Laudon can move onto a supply train to eliminate it.
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/754709#754709

Card 7 "If involved in combat next turn, Frederick has to reach a positive score at least once." No matter whether attacking or being attacked, Frederick has to reach a positive score in combat at least once using a Tactical Card (not just by starting the combat with more armies). If it's not possible for him (due to lack of cards), he must play as many cards as possible. If the enemy retreats before Frederick can play a card, then he must reach a positive score in the next combat during the same game turn (if there is another combat for Frederick that turn). If Frederick fights several battles in the turn, then he needs to achieve this just once.

Card 9 "Prussia may draw randomly one TC from Austria, after first giving one TC of her choice to Austria." The card given to Austria goes into their hand, where it might be randomly drawn back by Prussia.

Card 9 "5 or 6 cities distant from their supply train are immediately out of supply; flip them." This is an immediate instant effect, not some ongoing state of continually shortened supply distance.
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/131385

Card 10 "Any one Prussian general loses one army immediately (but not if he has to be taken off-map)." If all Prussian generals have only 1 army, no army is lost. If at least one Prussian general has 2 or more armies, then one of them must be chosen to lose an army.
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/399216/questions-about-fate-cards-1-7-10

Card 11. Next turn Prussia may play the spades-11 (Seydlitz) doubled value once.
You must have the spades-11 to use it. It counts as 22 then. If you have more than one spades-11, only one can be used as a 22.
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/203638
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/93003

12 GAME END

It is possible for more than one player to win, if several nations happen to conquer all their objectives during the same turn.

The Prussia/Hanover player can only win a solo victory, of course.

13 THE EXPERT GAME

There are various subtle undefined issues that can happen about "the sector where the most recently victorious general is positioned" (e.g. no combat has happened yet, or the most recently victorious general is no longer on the map, or players don't remember which general won the most recent battle). The intended spirit is "It is only important to find a method that one of the four versions is read somehow randomly." and so "You can easily find a totally different method (e.g. picking a random card from the discard decks) if you prefer."
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/3592754#3592754

In the Expert Game, Prussia can conquer Prussian objectives before turn 3, and has to decide at beginning of turn 3 whether she wants continue or not.
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/948544#948544

If Prussia has conquered all her objectives, the game ends immediately with a Prussian victory (as an exception to rule 12, 1st paragraph).
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/2740662#2740662

If Prussia declares OO, and the OO fails, Austria can still claim conquest of any 4 objectives at any time.
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/131827/austrian-free-objectives-with-oo

[What Links Here]
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.