The first 5000 copies included the "Bonus Planets Expansion" indicated by a sticker on the front of the box.
The differences between the 1st and 3rd English editions is largely if not entirely in the text on a few cards (also visible in the card reference on the back of the rulebook):
- Abundance: "Planets you Settle or Attack come into play with Resource slots full."
- Bureaucracy: "You may use the Leader Bonus when Following the Colonize and Welfare roles."
- Logistics: "Play the Action and Role phases of your turn in any order." 3rd edition added: "At the end of the game, take an additional turn."
- Terraforming: "Add this card to a planet as 2 colonies. If that fulfills the printed Colonize cost, Settle that planet. Note: Ignore Colonize discounts in your Empire." 3rd edition removed the note.