GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
10,243 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
14 Days Left

Support:

Wei Liang Tan
Singapore
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi, this is my first time writing a review in BGG, if there is anything that I can improve, please do tell me! I am one of the playtesters for Three Kingdoms Redux. This review will be based on the latest version of the prototype of the game that I had played a few times. I will not be going through the exact rules of the game as the designers had already posted up a draft copy of the rules in the file section.

Introduction

Three Kingdoms Redux is a boardgame for 3 players. It is set during the Three Kingdoms period of China after the fall of the Han dynasty, where the three main states, Wei (魏), Shu (蜀), and Wu (吳) had been established. Each player will be playing as one of the three kingdoms where the alliances are made and advantages will ebb and flow as each opposing kingdom tries to stop each other from becoming too powerful. Unlike traditional boardgames based on the Three Kingdom period which tends to focus heavily on the military side, Three Kingdoms Redux focuses on the management of your own kingdom and seeks to recreate the volatile tension between the 3 rulers. Playtime will take about 2 hours although a game with new players may take longer.

General Gameplay

In Three Kingdoms Redux, the winner is the player who is able to best manage the various aspects of running his or her kingdom, in another words, achieving the most victory points! Players will receive victory points according to their relative position in the development of the infrastructure of the state, conquering strategic areas and managing the relationship of the people and neighbouring tribes. The game is played up to a maximum of twelve rounds and will end after the twelfth round or when one of the end game conditions is triggered. A final scoring will then take place and the winner declared.