Aaron Dona
United States
Kirkland
Washington
flag msg tools
Who are we and what the heck is Space Frontier?
Hi, my name is Aaron Dona and my friend John Mathison and I have been designing a board game for the past 7 months. Our game is called Space Frontier and we started working on it after realizing that no existing space board games seemed to offer the type of gaming experience we wanted. We drew from our mutual love of classic space computer games like Escape Velocity and Homeworld for inspiration, and we've come up with a game of exploration, trade, and conquest. Space Frontier has gone through many iterations of rules by now, but as it nears completion we thought it would be a good idea to post them as well as the game components here on Boardgamegeek. We are interested to see what feedback, both positive and constructive, we can glean from fellow gamers on our rules writing and game-mechanics. So you are aware, as of this writing, everything is still in the prototype stage.

Components laid out from our most recent printed prototype:

How Does it Play?
In Space Frontier, players are the commanders of expeditions to explore and exploit an inhabited but uncharted sector of space. These expeditions are funded by a shady and corrupt empire, and as such the players are competing for the esteem of their sponsors by any means necessary. Each player is hoping to become the most successful at exploiting the resources of this new sector and pleasing their overlords.