Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Ogre» Forums » Rules

Subject: How many times can an Infantry Unit be reduced in a Classic Overrun? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Labelle
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules say that an Ogre can "Ram" no more than twice per turn. Fine.

Question: Infantry overruns (classic rules/quick start rules) Is there a limit on how many times an Ogre can reduce an Infantry Unit by overrunning?

For example: An Ogre moves into the three squad Infantry Unit's hex. The Infantry Unit is automatically reduced by one. The Ogre chooses to expend another movement point, stays in the same hex, and reduces the infantry unit again. Can the Ogre now continue to stay in the hex and expend its LAST movement point and further reduce the last point of the Infantry?
Alternately, could the Ogre after moving into the hex, reducing the infantry the second time by staying in the same hex, THEN use its last movement point to leave the hex? Or does it have to end its turn's movement there?

Thanks!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken
United States
West Palm Beach
Florida
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's a good question but an Ogre can stay at least once more.

Quote:
6.06 Reducing infantry. An Ogre does not literally “ram”
infantry, but any Ogre with AP weapons (or a Superheavy Tank)
may move into an infantry hex as though the infantry were not
there. If the Ogre/SHVY has any antipersonnel weapons left, the
infantry unit is automatically reduced by one squad. This does not
count as an “attack” for the AP weapons. An Ogre/SHVY in a hex
with infantry may expend a movement point, stay in the same hex,
and reduce the infantry again.
When all its AP weapons are gone, an
Ogre/SHVY can no longer reduce infantry in this way.


The other question is that can it continue to stay for as long as there are movement points?

[Bold for emphasis mine.]
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Read the rulebook, plan for all contingencies, and…read the rulebook again.
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'd say the Ogre would have the choice of staying in the hex to reduce infantry in the same hex for a third time on its third MP, or move out of the hex.

But consider: reduce the infantry once, twice, drive out for the third MP, and use one AP weapon to hit the last infantry point at 1-1. You have a 66% percent of eliminating the last step through a D or X result.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Talorien
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, when using Section 6 Ramming rules, an Ogre in a hex with enemy infantry may spend as many additional MP in the same hex as it likes, reducing enemy infantry in the hex by 1 squad for each additional MP spent. It may do so as long as it has at least one AP gun remaining.

I hope that helps!
4 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken
United States
West Palm Beach
Florida
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the quick response Daniel,

Happy New Year,
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.