Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Ogre» Forums » Rules

Subject: GEV in Single Town Hex—Can it Attack Town from there or Must Move Out First? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rob Lyon
United States
San Juan Islands
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
How does that work? Attacking terrain or town in same hex with attacker?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Rock

Illinois
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's just a normal attack, you don't have to move out first.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Lyon
United States
San Juan Islands
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Great, thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darin Sunley
United States
Draper
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Heh.

"If you're not willing to shell your own position, you're not willing to win." - The Seventy Maxims of Maximally Effective Mercenaries", www.schlockmercenary.com.

The GEV has a 1 in 6 chance of disabling itself from spillover fire from it's own attack (fairly optimistic when you consider the visual of a tank-sized hovercraft careening around a square mile of medium-dernsity town, frantically leveling buildings with short/zero-range tacnuke shots).

The rules are slightly ambiguous, but I'm just about certain that having the hex you're in transform into rubble does /not/ count as entering a rubble hex, so there shouldn't be any further possibilty of being disabled by the terrain (until and unless the GEV exits, and subsequently tries to reenter the (now rubbled) hex).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Rock

Illinois
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
HeatDeath wrote:
Heh.

"If you're not willing to shell your own position, you're not willing to win." - The Seventy Maxims of Maximally Effective Mercenaries", www.schlockmercenary.com.

The GEV has a 1 in 6 chance of disabling itself from spillover fire from it's own attack (fairly optimistic when you consider the visual of a tank-sized hovercraft careening around a square mile of medium-dernsity town, frantically leveling buildings with short/zero-range tacnuke shots).

The rules are slightly ambiguous, but I'm just about certain that having the hex you're in transform into rubble does /not/ count as entering a rubble hex, so there shouldn't be any further possibilty of being disabled by the terrain (until and unless the GEV exits, and subsequently tries to reenter the (now rubbled) hex).


That's not true:
7.12.2 Units affected by spillover fire. All units (friendly or enemy) in a hex are affected by spillover fire, except: (a) a unit’s own fire does not spill over onto it, and no spillover fire is calculated in an overrun; (b) separate spillover fire is not calculated for a tank and the infantry riding it (Section 5.11.2), and (c) Ogres and buildings ignore spillover fire.

and the rules are not ambiguous regarding rubbling a hex. Terrain effects for purposes of disabling apply only when moving into the hex.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darin Sunley
United States
Draper
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
That's what I get for leaning too hard on the reference sheet and not digging into the rulebook.

I stand corrected (and clearly need to play more GEV!). Thank you.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.