Popular Tags: [View All]
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
As a game designer, I believe sports games where players manage teams over some portion of a season, drafting new players in reaction to what the other managers do, are hard to design.

If the season is too short, your draft picks don't have enough time to matter. If individual matches lack interesting choices, then your picks don't feel properly integrated with the back and forth nature of a sports contest. If a match is too detailed, then playing any portion of a season turns into a huge time commitment.

Enter Baseball Highlights 2045 by Mike Fitzgerald, where Mike has cleverly addressed these issues. Instead of slavishly simulating baseball games, each game is a quick, 5 minute contest where both players, alternating back and forth, play 6 cards, reacting to each other.

Each card represents a single player's "highlights" during a game. So, one player's card might "threaten" Single, Single, Double, representing that player's potential hit output in a game.

This brings us to Mike's next clever idea, namely that cards can have two game effects, an immediate effect that takes place when the card is played and a threatened effect that may -- or may not -- take place after the opponent plays, depending on what the opponent's next card does.

For example, in response to the card above, an opponent might play a card that "gloves" (cancels) 1 hit, choosing to cancel the double and letting the two singles occur, while, in turn, threatening a triple. Or, a pitcher's immediate effect might be to strike out the first player -- canceling all the threatened hits -- but threatening nothing in return (a purely defensive card).