Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Webb
United States
Western Mitten
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Simple question here: there is a link to a French web site at the bottom of the Full Metal Planete page that includes the files necessary to print and play one's own copy of this game. Has anyone here done this, and if so, what are the dimensions of the board? I am probably going to make a copy of the game, and I would like to search the local thrift shops for a suitable board to mount the print-outs on, and it would help immensely to know what the dimensions are that I'm dealing with.

Also, if anyone else has done this, are there any other tips/pointers you can give me? This is my first time trying to use print and play files to recreate an entire board game, so any advice would be most welcome.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shane Is Board
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
There may be a better method, but for counters, I recommend getting "sticker paper" for your printer, and then affixing that to whatever material you decide to use...just remember, the thicker the material, the more you will swear and yell trying to cut the damn things out.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Webb
United States
Western Mitten
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Actually, this is the method I was thinking of:

My Mum works at a print shop, so I have access to higher quality printing and heavier paper. I am planning to have the board printed out on fairly heavy stock, and to then mount it on a board (if I can find one of the right size) and soft laminate it for protection.

The counters I was unsure about. I was initially thinking about having them printed out on the same stock as the board, and then mounting them on medium weight cardboard and soft laminating that. Perhaps the sticker idea would be easier...I wonder about wear and tear on the pieces though.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shane Is Board