Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Mansions of Madness» Forums » Rules

Subject: puzzles rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Glen Rudis
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Don't have the rule book handy at the moment, and I had a quick question about puzzles. If a puzzle is failed does it remain intact as is after failure for the next attempt, either by the same investigator next turn or a different investigator, or is it removed and recreated for every attempt?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Baker Odom
United States
Bluffton
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It stays intact and can be continued later.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Glen Rudis
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok great thank you!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J H
msg tools
thebaker1983 wrote:
It stays intact and can be continued later.


I have a follow up question.. does it cost an action to "re-encounter" the puzzle to finish it?

ex) player 1 explores a room he is in, and encounters puzzle. Is unable to complete puzzle on current turn. On his next turn, he wants to try again to complete it. Does that cost an action? Or is it a continuation of the 1st/original action?

Secondly, does that automatically cause the remaining cards to be shown 9cards under the obstacle/puzzle card? Or would an additional "explore" need to be used once the puzzle is completed?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Terry Thompson
United States
Laurel
Maryland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Assuming you're talking about the base game, puzzles are an effect of locks or obstacles. So I'm going to assume it's a lock puzzle since you talk about entering the room.

To answer your first question; Not an action necessarily. but A move. The investigator 'triggers' the lock by attempting to move into the room that has the lock card. On a failed attempt, the investigator figure would be moved back into the space it was in just before moving into the locked room.

In answer to your second question; to continue trying the puzzle, they must make another attempt to move into the room. Only 1 attempt may be made per turn. So even if an investigator is just outside of the locked room at the beginning of their turn and thus they have the ability to move 3 times (2 moves and 1 action <-actions can be used to move), they still can only engage the puzzle once this turn. If they fail, they can make no more attempts until the next game turn.

Nothing in the rules states that failing a lock puzzle end your turn. or prevents using other moves or actions. If you attempt to move into a locked room and are unable to solve the puzzle, the investigator could spend the remaining movement and action to move away and/or perform a non-puzzle related action.

To answer your last question. Exploring is a separate activity to the lock card. To reveal/obtain the cards under the lock, the investigator must spend an Action exploring the room. And it obviously cannot be explored until the investigator has actually entered the room.

An obstacles don't prevent you from entering a room, though. They are part of spending an action exploring. If an obstacle puzzle is solved on the investigator's exploration action, they would pick up the exploration cards immediately without having to spend another action.

-Terry
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J H
msg tools
firespiter wrote:
Assuming you're talking about the base game, puzzles are an effect of locks or obstacles. So I'm going to assume it's a lock puzzle since you talk about entering the room.

To answer your first question; Not an action necessarily. but A move. The investigator 'triggers' the lock by attempting to move into the room that has the lock card. On a failed attempt, the investigator figure would be moved back into the space it was in just before moving into the locked room.

In answer to your second question; to continue trying the puzzle, they must make another attempt to move into the room. Only 1 attempt may be made per turn. So even if an investigator is just outside of the locked room at the beginning of their turn and thus they have the ability to move 3 times (2 moves and 1 action <-actions can be used to move), they still can only engage the puzzle once this turn. If they fail, they can make no more attempts until the next game turn.

Nothing in the rules states that failing a lock puzzle end your turn. or prevents using other moves or actions. If you attempt to move into a locked room and are unable to solve the puzzle, the investigator could spend the remaining movement and action to move away and/or perform a non-puzzle related action.

To answer your last question. Exploring is a separate activity to the lock card. To reveal/obtain the cards under the lock, the investigator must spend an Action exploring the room. And it obviously cannot be explored until the investigator has actually entered the room.

An obstacles don't prevent you from entering a room, though. They are part of spending an action exploring. If an obstacle puzzle is solved on the investigator's exploration action, they would pick up the exploration cards immediately without having to spend another action.

-Terry


Thanks Terry. One more follow up... Aren't there occasions where an obstacle is a puzzle? If so, it would be an "explore" action to encounter the puzzle. Say you can't complete it that turn. On your next turn, is it another action to continue trying the puzzle?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Terry Thompson
United States
Laurel
Maryland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. In the case of the puzzle being an obstacle, it is triggered by the "Explore" action. So you would have to use your action that next turn to once again attempt to solve the puzzle.
-Terry
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.