Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Ogre» Forums » Rules

Subject: Contested Hex rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alex Nguyen
United States
Chantilly
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
6 out of 7 dwarfs are not Happy
Avatar
mbmbmb
Hi folks—
Does the following mean that after an overrun, other units which hadn't taken part in the original combat can now move through the hex freely even if it's not empty? Do they have to?

Rulebook wrote:
Any of the attacker’s units which had not yet moved may now move freely through the contested hex.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Walters
United States
Hercules
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

That's *if* the attacks wins, i.e. if there are no surviving defending units in the hex (other than Ogres with only AP weapons remaining).

The part you quoted is dependent on the sentence before:

<q>8.08 Resuming play after an overrun. Return all surviving units to the contested hex. The attacker’s movement phase continues. If he won the overrun attack, and any of his surviving units have movement points left, they may continue to move, and may participate in another overrun. Any of the attacker’s units which had not yet moved may now move freely through the contested hex. Exception: If an enemy Ogre in the hex retains AP, infantry moving through the hex must overrun it.</q>

So, assuming for simplicity no Ogres are involved, if all he defenders are eliminated the attacker wins, his units continue moving, and other units that did not participate in the overrun may move through that hex. That means the HVYs and INF can go win the overrun and then your trucks or missile crawler or whatever high value unit you like can move through the hex after the overrun without having to face any combat. If the attackers units are all eliminated in the overrun the defending units are returned to the hex, and the attacker's movement phase continues. The attacker could move more units into the same hex and initiate another overrun.

Does that answer the question?
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Nguyen
United States
Chantilly
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
6 out of 7 dwarfs are not Happy
Avatar
mbmbmb
Cool, the existence of the sentence made me think there was something being implied that wasn't obvious.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Rock

Illinois
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Another thing that may help clarify what's happening. Overrun combat occurs *during* the current player's movement phase. You can move as many units as you want into the hex to try and "storm the hill" but that can be as many or as few units as you'd like to use (more is usually better).

Once that overrun combat is complete, the current player's movement simply continues as normal. There's nothing special about the hex at that point and if the attacker won the overrun, any units that have not moved yet can move through normally just like the overrun never happened.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.