Subject: As a keeper, can I look through the event cards in the game? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Máté Kovács
Hungary
Budapest
flag msg tools
mb
I am a beginner keeper, and I never checked the event cards during the game, so it was a surprise for me as well. I always check the main objective, to see, how can I win.

But can I check what will be the upcoming events?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff C
msg tools
You cannot.

Per page 11 of the rules under Event Step: “The keeper and investigators may not look at the face of an Event card until it is resolved.”
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Máté Kovács
Hungary
Budapest
flag msg tools
mb
That make sense, thanks.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Garramone
United States
Nashville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Depends on how you want to play the game, I guess. I play the game as much as an RPG like experience as possible, so I read every last thing. This allows me, as the Keeper, to make a more thematic game for the players and also shapes what cards I play to keep the narrative flowing.

If you're playing strictly Keeper vs players in a contest to win, then play by the rules as stated above. I just don't think it's near as rewarding to play that way. I would rather play another game if I'm going all out Keeper vs Players. Not to mention, I think the Keeper has an advantage from personal play experience. If I mini/max my Keeper Cards to the hilt and take advantage of every rule and milk every edge, it makes for a blah game I think. But that's just me. I'm sure others may differ.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Terry Thompson
United States
Laurel
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Keesvanloomacklin wrote: