Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Mansions of Madness» Forums » Rules

Subject: Exploring a room with 2 monsters rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
k ti
msg tools
How does it work when an investigator wants to explore a room with 2 other monsters. They are not on the same space.

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexander Steinbach
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In that case you can just explore the room.

Only if they are in the same space you first have to do an evade check for each monster in the space.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Snow
United States
Millcreek
Utah
flag msg tools
badge
University of Utah - Go Utes!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kira13337 wrote:
How does it work when an investigator wants to explore a room with 2 other monsters. They are not on the same space.

Thanks


If you just entered the room, or if the monsters just entered the room, you would need to do a Horror Check before doing anything else. After that, if there is not a monster on your same space, you can explore the room as normal. If a monster is on your same space, however, you have to do an Evade Test first before being able to explore.

Here is an example from page 15 of the rulebook:

Rulebook page 15 wrote:
Example: Joe Diamond wishes to explore his room, but there is a zombie in his space. In order to explore the room, he must attempt to evade the zombie. The player adds the monster’s awareness of 1 to Joe Diamond’s Dexterity of 4. He then tests Dexterity and rolls a 6. Since this number is higher than Joe Diamond’s modified Dexterity of 5, he fails to evade the monster. The monster deals him 2 damage (printed on the back of the monster token), and then Joe Diamond explores the room. After exploring, he decides to move into an adjacent space. Since he has already made an evade test against that monster this turn, he does not need to make another evade test.


Happy gaming!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matěj Jan Morávek
Czech Republic
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I would just add an often overlooked detail, that you will be able to explre the room regardless if you pass the evade test or not. Evade test only determines, whether the monster will be able to damage you (and even the dmaage is optional, Keeper decides).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.