Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Ogre» Forums » Rules

Subject: Flipped side rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brian McCue
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
When did OGRE/GEV units start having a flipped side? They didn't in 1977, and they do now--when was the change?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Baker
United States
Waycross
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
They have always had a flip side.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darin Sunley
United States
Draper
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The earliest copy I own is the 2000 VHS-Box Ogre/GEV version. All of the pieces have stuff on the back. Infantry have a different number of squads, armor have disabled versions of themselves, etc. This holds true for the other expansions from that era: Shockwave, Reinforcements, and Battlefields.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Seyboldt
United States
Rutherfordton
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmb
I have a third edition copy which had double sided counters. Came in a hard case. Thin card which had to be cut out with scissors. I think all the SJG editions had flip sides and only the meta gaming first printing did not.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Rob
United States
Tampa
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My first copy was the original 1977 edition (plastic bag and "strip" cut counters). I'm pretty sure it (as well as the other early Metagaming Microgames) had single sided counters.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Rock

Illinois
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
brianmccue wrote:
When did OGRE/GEV units start having a flipped side? They didn't in 1977, and they do now--when was the change?


It started with the 3rd edition. The 1st and 2nd editions of Ogre and the 1st edition of GEV (ie. metagaming editions) were single-sided.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Harvey
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Double-sided counters? What sort of voodoo is that?

Wait, how does (8.04 Camouflage) work if the reverse is not blank?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
caracfergus wrote:
Wait, how does (8.04 Camouflage) work if the reverse is not blank?

The latest Pocket edition 8.04 says to use coins and note the real units on paper.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Rock

Illinois
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
caracfergus wrote:
Double-sided counters? What sort of voodoo is that?

Wait, how does (8.04 Camouflage) work if the reverse is not blank?


Painfully. You either have to cover them up with something, or use the numbered tokens as a placeholder and write down what everything is.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Fridy
United States
Kent
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My old GEV copy was one sided, but it was old...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.