Popular Tags: [View All]
David Valenze
United States
Springfield
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, you are correct in your understanding on this topic. If an X result is rolled on the CRT at 1-1 odds, the Ogre loses a number of tread units equal to the attack strength of the attacking unit.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Pressler
United States
West Lafayette
Indiana
flag msg tools
designer
OMG! Overtext! How long have I been sleeping?! OVERTEXT! Also, I'm a DESIGNER now?! Sweet! OVERTEXXXXXXT!
badge
HO HO HO! Give me some money!
mbmbmbmbmb
cedric18 wrote:
...the Ogre loses a number of tread units equal to the attack strength of the attacking unit.

Years (and years) ago when I first learned the game, we missed this rather crucial detail and temporarily thought the Ogre unstoppable! robot
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Rochelle
United States
Huntsville
Alabama
flag msg tools
92 8 13 10/19/89
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
It's also worth clarifying that, with one exception, multiple units/weapons cannot combine attacks against Ogre treads -- each weapon must fire one-at-a-time at 1:1 odds.

(the exception is stacked infantry squads, which can fire together or separately as desired)

Why does this matter? Suppose you've got two HVYs, the Ogre has 8 tread left, and you have to kill it this turn. If you can combine attacks, then you've got an 8-factor attack and a 1-in-3 chance to stop the Ogre. However, you can't do that, and so your separate 4-factor attacks only have a 1-in-9 chance. Combining attacks would allow for a handful of massive strikes to rapidly immobilize an Ogre.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Fridy
United States
Kent
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Part of me has wondered how it would play if you rolled one die for each point of attack strength and each 5 or 6 would knock off one track.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Walters
United States
Hercules
California
flag msg tools
designer