Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lang Jones
United States
Kew Gardens
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I won't call this a review, just my thoughts on the game. Its my first time trying to present my thoughts like this, so please be gentle.

Subject Matter

I'm a sucker for anything obscure, so a foggy battle in the Crimean War scratches my itch.

Components

Counters
- thick and well made, although a few of them were just a bit fuzzy, still very solid overall.

Map
- clear and functional. If I have a gripe its with the size of the hexes. The mechanics of this game involves moving stacks of counters, and removing counters from said stacks. I would have liked to see larger hexes so it would be easier to move one stack without affecting the counters in adjacent hexes. I even found myself reconsidering moves that might knock down other counter stacks. I'm considering buying the PNP version just to get the map files and print it out at 125%.

Player Aids - There's a turn track to help keep a handle on things and all the charts you need are printed on the last page of the rulebook. I would have liked to see the charts on a separate sheet, but that's what copiers are for. I'd also love to have seen the scoring methodology added to the reference sheet.

Mechanics - This game uses chit pull, which I love, and stacks of counters which I didn't know I loved until I played this game. Each unit has step counters under it to denote its strength. When units take a hit, you remove a step counter, once the steps are gone you flip the unit ID marker over to its reduced side. I REALLY, REALLY like this mechanic. It creates a sense of doom as you see your best units reduced, and an even greater sense of doom when you see a tall stack of counters descending on your units.