Hide
10 Posts

Tokaido» Forums » General

Subject: Sleeves - are there sleeves that fit closer? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
msg tools
Hi,

I'm looking for sleeves to fit the Tokaido cards. I'm new to sleeves. I'm interested in the Mayday sleeves (MDG-7035) mini-euro, as they seem to be very popular. I have been reading that the premium Mayday sleeves end up being a problem for fitting the cards in the box.

One thing I noticed though is the fit seems to be a bit loose from what I've been reading. I hear that there are are sleeves that are made to fit closer. I see Mayday makes one called "perfect fit" but they don't seem to make it available in euro-size unless I'm mistaken.

Can anybody recommend a closer-fitting mini-euro sleeve for these cards, or is the standard Mayday MDG-7035 the best fitting?

EDIT: According to starlitcitadel's guide to sleeves, here's what they say about Mayday:

Quality: Poor. Mayday Standard sleeves have frequent quality issues, with sleeves being unclear (slightly “dirty” in look), slightly sticky while shuffling, or cut to the wrong size (up to 3mm bigger or smaller than their listed dimensions).

Hmm. How do Ultimate Guard sleeves compare?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
msg tools
I'm looking at the Ultimate Guard since they seem to rate highly for quality and consistency, but I can't find out what the thickness is. Does anyone know? All it says on their site is "Sleeve thickness optimized for gameplay". whatever that means. I'm afraid if they're too thick the cards won't fit in the box. Does anyone know the thickness of these sleeves or how well they fit these cards?

EDIT:

I found a pdf on their site:

SUPREME SLEEVES - Card sleeves with ideal fit and extra high clearness. Material thickness: 115 microns

PREMIUM SOFT SLEEVES - Soft card sleeves with high gauge, regular fit and high clearness. Material thickness: 50 microns