Recommend
10 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Ogre» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ogre Tutorials rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Rock

Illinois
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just posted my first Ogre tutorial on GEV terrain effects https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DmExRmb14TI

One of the areas that is a bit lacking in the computer version is a description of _why_ units can or can't move to a given hex. I'm planning on at least a video for each category of unit, but the GEV seemed like a good place to start.
10 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Niko
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
granitepenguin wrote:
Just posted my first Ogre tutorial on GEV terrain effects https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DmExRmb14TI

One of the areas that is a bit lacking in the computer version is a description of _why_ units can or can't move to a given hex. I'm planning on at least a video for each category of unit, but the GEV seemed like a good place to start.
At 10:30 a GEV is getting the movement bonus even though part of the movement is on water and part on road, I thought the movement bonus only applied when a unit spends the entire movement on a road or on water without transitioning from one to the other but it seems I misunderstood that part of the rules?

Also at 12:00, why can the GEV only move 3 hexes?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Gallo
United States
O'Fallon
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
As I recall, and I am not sure I am correct, GEVs can only transition "smoothly" if there is a beach hex. So if the road goes into the water via a beach hex it is possible to collect the road bonus IFF the players allow it. The rules indicate road OR water. House rule to the rescue.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Rock

Illinois
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ze_German_Guy wrote:
granitepenguin wrote:
Just posted my first Ogre tutorial on GEV terrain effects https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DmExRmb14TI

One of the areas that is a bit lacking in the computer version is a description of _why_ units can or can't move to a given hex. I'm planning on at least a video for each category of unit, but the GEV seemed like a good place to start.
At 10:30 a GEV is getting the movement bonus even though part of the movement is on water and part on road, I thought the movement bonus only applied when a unit spends the entire movement on a road or on water without transitioning from one to the other but it seems I misunderstood that part of the rules?

This is specifically why I included this in the video; what you see is correct behavior. If there is a road in the same hex as the beach, the beach allows a transition between water and road that maintains the road bonus between the two.

From 2.01.9:
Beach is treated as ordinary clear terrain for all purposes. Exception: GEVs may move through a beach hexside from land to water, or vice versa, without ending the turn at the edge of the water. If a road or railroad passes through the beach hex, a GEV may move from road/RR to water or vice versa and get a road bonus for that phase, if and only if it passes through the beach hex side.
The "it" in "if and only if it passes through the beach hex side" refers to the GEV, not the road.

Quote:
Also at 12:00, why can the GEV only move 3 hexes?

This is actually a bug that I reported as a result of doing the video. You are correct that the GEV should be able to move further than it is showing. The bug is the ramp isn't correctly "connecting" to the road, so even though it is negating the water edge, it's not negating the town, which causes it to stop early.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Rock

Illinois
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My next tutorial on terrain effects for Light Tracked Units (Missile Tanks and Light tanks) is live.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=juTv1BOdzFs

2 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Rock

Illinois
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The next installment for Infantry is live:
https://youtu.be/dRgIy7Tsf-Y
1 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.