Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kirk
United States
Commerce Twp.
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just recently I started playing Star Wars Destiny... very recently. Last night, I found out that I had been getting a rule wrong as I was using focus on a die to change itself (has to be another die or dice). I then started wondering what other rules have I played incorrectly for a long time. Several from Monopoly come to mind regarding mortgaging and auctioning although those seem to be fairly common.

So today I started thinking that there might be some funny or interesting stories that members here might have regarding rules that they got wrong, especially if it was for a lengthy period? Might be a good break from the mundane on a Friday...

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pete
United States
Northbrook
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I can never get the board in the middle of the table.

Pete (hates that rule)
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
flag msg tools
Don't forget to have fun!
mbmbmbmbmb
The first time we played Great Western Trail we took exactly 1 action at every location we decided to stop at. It made the game MUCH longer. I didn't really notice the difference between the vertical action dividers and the horizontal "OR" dividers, so we treated everything as OR type decisions. A testament to the quality of the game though, we still enjoyed it. But... have certainly preferred every playthrough since.

Edit: See also, this Geeklist - https://boardgamegeek.com/geeklist/225770/i-already-know-wha...

Edit to Edit: From sharing that Geeklist which I have read before I've learned that I've been playing Istanbul wrong...
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shotgun Games
msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
We thought Mice & Mystics was a competitive game so we just kept attacking each other.

That was the most confusing game I ever played.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Iffix Y Santaph
msg tools
designer