J. Chris Miller
United States
Plano
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I've found a trend lately of a lot of board games having sub-optimal rule books. It's put me off to such an extent that I will trade away a game if I have to constantly check FAQs and such for games.

I've also wondered why some people are able to easily grok a game through one read of a rule book, while others toil through pages of FAQs and post in forums.

I've come to realize that there are essentially 3 types of "rule-learners" in board games.

1. Total Noob - Very new to board games; has to be shown every aspect of board game in order to understand how to play.

2. Thorough Reader/Memorizer - Someone who understands games and carefully reads and memorizes every element of the rules within a rule book by reading cover to cover.

3. Indexer - Someone who understands games and and also finds rule book reading tedious. They also have a hard time with longer, non-indexed rule books because they have to search through paragraphs to find the answer to a given rule when referencing during game play. These learners thrive in the two-book model used in games such as Arkham Horror: The Card Game.

I find myself in the Indexer category. I'm somewhat impatient when consuming information because I consume a lot of it. It's to the point where I don't enjoy reading at all for pleasure. A lot of the distaste for reading I think comes from having to review similar information that has already been learned, over and over again throughout the course of x time period. It's also probably a byproduct of the information age, but that is a separate discussion.

For example, I know how to play a worker placement game. I never need to be taught that rule again. So when I go to a rule book and it gives a long, detailed explanation about worker placement, I often find myself wanting to skim it or ignore it completely.