Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Flash Point: Fire Rescue – Tragic Events» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rules for new victims rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Marcus Porter
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Where there supposed to be rules for the new victim tokens that come with this expansion? Am I just missing a rules sheet?

I know I can find rules here and elsewhere, and I already had each of these victims except for the new couple, but I was hoping to have an official rule sheet to go with my others, since these victim tokens are actually listed on the box, not just a kickstarter extra.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
They have rules for how the new victims work on the event cards themselves.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Freilich
United States
Feasterville/Trevose
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules were also released along with the Extreme Danger Kickstarter.

Treated Victim (red cross): Medic not necessary. Can "follow" firefighter as if already treated for normal movement AP.

Critically Wounded Victim (black cross): Cannot be moved until treated by the Medic, then can be carried for 2AP as normal. Further treatments by Medic have no effect.

Heavy Victim (chubby with weight): All actions on Heavy Victim are doubled. Medic treatment costs 2AP, carrying 4AP, leading 2AP, etc.

Oxygen Tank Victim (wearing O2 mask and hazmat symbol): Counts as a victim AND a hazmat. Costs 4AP to carry or 2 to lead if treated by Medic. If fire lands on this POI/Victim, follow normal hazmat explosion rules (place hot spot or Flare Up card as needed).

Hope that helps!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marcus Porter
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I see, instead of adjusting the difficulty by mixing them in from the start, the special POIs get mixed in as the results of specific event cards. That seems like it will make it more likely that the POIs will hit our table, I like it.

The new three tokens I was wondering about are the couple.

Inseparable
Mix the couple POI marker
into the POI supply.
------------------
When this marker is revealed,
remove it from the game and place
2 Victims in the space.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Freilich
United States
Feasterville/Trevose
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The couple is pretty much just used as written. If they get revealed, they'll essentially become two POI on the same spot. I guess the danger is in losing them, since I assume they count as both dying if the POI is hit by fire while not revealed. There's no rules for what happens if one of the victims in the couple should die (at least that I know of). I'm sure if you wanted, you could also mix the couple into your starting POI markers. Even with the cards, I still mix some of the special POIs in at the beginning...since I have more than one set of them.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marcus Porter
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I did not find the rules for the couples to be confusing, once I understood that I had to open up the deck of cards to find them. I only reproduced them above for anyone else reading this thread, to complete the list of rules for the other POIs.

I imagine if one of the couple made it out and the other didn't, we would have some narrating the tragic story, but I won't expect we would need special rules for it. The dead spouse would just count as one step closer to losing.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Freilich
United States
Feasterville/Trevose
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Maybe the surviving spouse could become an avatar of vengeance, gaining 20AP and the abilities of every specialist for one round.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marcus Porter
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I completely agree. I'm sure that rule was just left out by accident.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Mcgamin

Arizona
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What happens to the wounded POIs if I choose to play without the paramedic? Is there a rule for this (such as remove these from the game) or does it just make the game harder because they are sure to die? I suppose that is thematically correct but it seems like I am missing something.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Cameron Corlew
United States
Martinez
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DC680 wrote:
What happens to the wounded POIs if I choose to play without the paramedic? Is there a rule for this (such as remove these from the game) or does it just make the game harder because they are sure to die? I suppose that is thematically correct but it seems like I am missing something.


You can always switch roles at the fire engine if you have that POI in play.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Mcgamin

Arizona
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
wannaoreo wrote:
DC680 wrote:
What happens to the wounded POIs if I choose to play without the paramedic? Is there a rule for this (such as remove these from the game) or does it just make the game harder because they are sure to die? I suppose that is thematically correct but it seems like I am missing something.


You can always switch roles at the fire engine if you have that POI in play.


Ah yes, good point.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Freilich
United States
Feasterville/Trevose
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
DC680 wrote:
What happens to the wounded POIs if I choose to play without the paramedic? Is there a rule for this (such as remove these from the game) or does it just make the game harder because they are sure to die? I suppose that is thematically correct but it seems like I am missing something.


I've also house ruled that any firefighter can do a medic action for like, double or triple the cost of the Medic.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.