First Martians: Adventures on the Red Planet» Forums » Reviews

Subject: LOCAL MATERIALS MISSION rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nathan Renkas
United States
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
I started playing this game about 2 weeks ago. I never played Robinson Crusoe, but had heard great things about the comparisons. So, I thought I'd give it a go. I am a big space/sci-fi fan and love survival-type board games.

I really wanted to like this game from the start.

I played the intro mission MAKE YOURSELF AT HOME on medium difficulty and won it on my first try. I then tried the intro on hard difficulty and found it much easier than the medium difficulty?! Anyway, I proceeded to play PROBE ON THE LOOSE as this was recommended by the game's creator as the next easiest mission. I played that mission on medium difficulty and won on my first try as well. SO, I proceeded down the list recommended by the creator as the next most difficult mission and played LOCAL MATERIALS. Based on my relatively easy success on the first two missions, I thought I would be able to beat LOCAL MATERIALS on medium, so I started right in on the hard difficulty. As I play this game solo (with only 2 astronauts and 2 AOMs), I believe myself to be at a great disadvantage. Because, after 4 sols on hard difficulty, one of my astronauts was dead. So, I pulled back and decided that medium difficulty for this mission was the best place to start. WRONG!