Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Tenkatoitsu» Forums » Rules

Subject: Withdrawal paths and mechanisms rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
R Larsen
Denmark
Naerum (Copenhagen)
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi all,

Three questions relating to Withdrawals:

1. Are there no restrictions to Withdrawal paths, eg. can I circle an enemy unit within the three-hex distance, and only as the eighth hex move at a four-hex distance? The rules would suggest do, but it seems highly gamey, unless troops at the time actually were known to do that.

2. When a clan with more than two units withdraws, can the two first end up non-adjacent, as long as the third or fourth units of the clan, close the gap when they withdraw?

3. Will an enemy unit in Attack and in ZOC keep following withdrawing clans around the map, irrespective of distance? It is easy to imagine, and especailly in Nagakute, a single-unit Tokugawa clan follow three Ikeda Clans across the map. Thus, is it correct to assume that in an obligatory Rally phase, a clan can only withdraw once, but an enemy clan (in Attack, in ZOCs) can keep pursuing subsequently withdrawing clans multiple times?

Thanks for any help, and for a very interesting game.

Cheers,
Ras
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gregory Deniaud
France
flag msg tools
mbmb
I will try to answer you.

1. Retreat rule is not very precise. You must stop when the unit is 4 hexes away. There is nothing about the path followed but spirit of the rule is to go away from ennemy and not around.

2. Yes, you can. Units must finish adjacent but if they can't, they can't. There is no penalty.

3. Yes, pursuit can bring units far away. But you can try to stop pursuit : change order to Defend when you pursue. If you are successfull, change clan's ordre in Defend and don't pursue.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
R Larsen
Denmark
Naerum (Copenhagen)
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks again, Gregory.
I think we have played it right, then.

Concerning 1. it could be argued, that a given unit should always move away from the nearest enemy unit in hexes, if possible. But it might cause issues that I have not considered, and that the designer has.

Concerning 2. that does make it easier to do some retreat timing.

Concerning 3. yes, in our first FtF game, we just discovered that for units without Leaders, changing out of Regroup can take a LONG time. :-)

Thanks for the help!
Cheers,
Ras
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Francois Vander Meulen
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Concerning 1. The withdrawal is not a just a retreat. The way the rule is written is to let the player able to find a place to go within 8 hexes and at more than 3 hexes from nearest enemy. To move away from the nearest unit can lead to block a unit while another route would be possible.
thanks

François
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pierre Miranda
Switzerland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When evaluating the "4 hexes away from the closest enemy unit", do you do so at the beginning of the activation, or as you go? If the latter, this can lead to a clan getting dispersed.
For instance if a clan has 3 units and the first one retreats 4 hexes away from the enemy, the enemy pursues. The next 2 units can't then end up grouped with the first unit, because that would mean staying closer then 4 hexes from the enemy unit which just pursued. Correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gregory Deniaud
France
flag msg tools
mbmb
Yes, i would play like this.

Oui, je le jouerais comme ça.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Atsushi Imuta
Japan
Tokyo
flag msg tools
Regarding No.1, are you suggesting that if a withdrawing unit has only two options to move to, the second hex away from enemy and the third hex away from enemy, for example, you should take the third hex?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gregory Deniaud
France
flag msg tools
mbmb
Yes, you should. It's not mandatory but the rule is intended like this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Atsushi Imuta
Japan
Tokyo
flag msg tools
Many thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.