Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Mansions of Madness» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question about locks and obstacle rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nick G

Massachusetts
msg tools
Does solving a lock or obstable count as the investigators action? As in, if the were able to remove the lock or solve the puzzle can they also explore the room the same turn? Me and my friends weren't 100% sure but it sounded like they were separate actions, just wanted to make sure.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Tracey
Ireland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Quick answer - yes, if you pass the puzzle then you *continue* to explore or move into the room depending on whether it's an obstacle or lock card, respectively.

Long answer - Lock cards become a part of your *movement* step when you enter a locked room. If you pass, you complete the step and move into the room, but if you fail then you don't move into the room and lose the movement step you were using to move into the room. If you fail the first time, you *can't* use another movement to attempt the puzzle again, as the rules dictate that an investigator cannot attempt the same puzzle twice in the same turn. Another investigator *can* try it, though.
Obstacle cards become part of your action step when you use an action to explore a room. If you pass the obstacle then you continue to explore the room, and if you fail you lose that action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.