Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Formula D» Forums » Rules

Subject: Changing lanes rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
P K
msg tools
According to the rules, on a straight, you can change 1 lane per move without any restriction, and 2 lanes if you're either doing it in the same direction (not ending up in your original lane), or you're overtaking another car.

How does this work with "dangerous spaces" (spaces where a car took damage or was destroyed, or spaces that are marked on the map itself as dangerous)? Can you change lane to the left, then go back right again when you're past the dangerous space, just like when overtaking a car? Or is going back to your original lane still not allowed when zigzagging between dangerous zones?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jukka-Pekka Tuominen
Finland
flag msg tools
mbmb
Zigzagging is not allowed.
But if you need to change lanes because of another hazard space then I would allow it. Same rules here. You can change lanes, but cannot change back to you original lane. A hazard space is not the same as another car.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tor Sverre Lund
Norway
Trondheim
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dangerous spaces are treated just like other cars in terms of allowing lane changes. The easiest way to look at it, is if you count from your start space on the straight (A), to your end space on that straight (B), if you took the shortest route possible from A to B. Doesn't matter if your whole move was on the straight, just look at the part of it that was.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Haley
United States
Scappoose
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When you overtake another car, if you think of it, the other car is also moving (driving) so you have more "time" to get around them. In this case you can zigzag.

For "Dangerous spaces", they are just sitting on the road being lazy and getting in the way. You can swerve or avoid hitting it by changing lanes but you can't really quickly swerve back into your starting lane safely so zigzagging is not allowed in this case.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
P K
msg tools
OK, so do I understand correctly then that if you would have to zig to avoid a dangerous space, you are not allowed to zag back, but if during the same move you come across one or more other dangerous spaces, you CAN change lane (in any direction) for each one?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Haley
United States
Scappoose
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can only continue changing lanes in one direction or go through the dangerous space and maybe take damage.

If you change lanes to the right to avoid a dangerous space and you come to another dangerous space, you can only go through it or change lanes to the right again.

You can only go back to your last lane if you are overtaking another car.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tor Sverre Lund
Norway
Trondheim
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I beg to differ. It might not be explicitly stated in the Formula D rules, but it's very clear in the older Formuala Dé rules. Page 2, under "Straights":
"Zigzagging (Switching back and forth across lanes) in a straight is strictly forbidden. You cannot move out of a lane and then back into that lane in the same turn, unless you are passing another car or you are avoiding an obstacle" (i.e. Dangerous Space)
In Formula D this is simply shortened (and horribly so, as with many other rules) to "The dangerous spaces can be avoided by changing lanes."
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.