Abstract Games» Forums » General

Subject: Popularity of mind sports rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brian Svoboda
United States
flag msg tools
Hello everyone,

I've been thinking lately on what makes a mind sport popular and have written a blog post on the topic. I think it will be of interest to the community here in BGG Abstracts. I'd be happy to hear all of your thoughts on the matter!

Popularity of mind sports

Clear skies,
Brian

EDIT While I mention designers in the post, this wasn't intended to refer to any person in particular, and certainly no one here!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmb
The comparison with new programming languages seems apt indeed.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
christian freeling
Netherlands
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb

Hi Brian,

I like the comparisons you make, although I'm not a programmer. You're right on all points concerning the short flight (if at all) of new games that would objectively meet or even surpass the standards of the big ones. I don't see Grand Chess or Dameo disappear in the short term precisely because players may feel challenged but I obviously hope that they will eventually make it all the way through the bottleneck, to shine to all eternity. That's two out of some fifty.

But I find comfort in the fact that that is not the reason I made them. I just couldn't find anything more useful to do to get me through life (and by now I'm pretty sure I succeeded in the latter).

P.S. Whether off or on topic (the latter as another example of almost predictable failure) and despite your dark analysis, you really should try Storisende.

P.P.S. Yes I know, no pictures yet, oh boy my bad.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Svoboda
United States
flag msg tools
christianF wrote:

Hi Brian,