Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Betrayal Legacy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Chapter 2 question about placing ghosts (SPOILERS) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
A C
United Kingdom
South Yorkshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We were just trying to decide if/when to place specific ghosts in chapter 2:

Spoiler (click to reveal)

4 player game and i was with the survivors. We managed to kill the traitor but she immediately announced that she wouldn't be placing a ghost sticker and, sure enough, when it came to her turn she stood back up. One player said it still counted as a death and that this was a sort of resurrection, so the ghost sticker should be placed, whereas another pointed out that we could kill her a number of times and end up having ghost stickers all over the board for a single character who isn't even dead.

So question 1: Would you place a ghost each time the traitor was killed?



Spoiler (click to reveal)

Then at the end of the game we killed the correct inhabitant and placed a ghost sticker for them as instructed in the rulebook. However the traitor was still alive (resurrected) at this point. We read through everything else we were told to read/do but nothing mentioned the traitor's fate. One player reasoned that the traitor should be considered killed simply because they lost, so a ghost sticker should be placed on the space where they were when the game ended. The traitor suggested that she'd simply flee after seeing her boss killed and should not only NOT place a ghost sticker, but should also be allowed to return with the same character (reformed cultist, anyone?) in the next chapter.

So question 2: Did you all consider your traitor to be auto-killed at the end of this game? And did you place a ghost sticker for them?


Neither's a big deal gameplay-wise and it's not like we spent hours debating our options - we just made a quick group decision for both situations. I was just wondering what others did (and also if maybe we missed anything in the rules/instructions).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Daviau
United States
Unspecified
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
The traitor does not leave a ghost in this haunt no matter what happens. Either they win or

Spoiler (click to reveal)
They keep getting resurrected, their soul shoved back into their body, until their master is killed, at which point they flee.


But +/- 1 ghost in the game doesn't change much. There's a big variance between 3 players and 5 players to start with and it all works out.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A C
United Kingdom
South Yorkshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Great, thanks for the clarification, Rob. thumbsup
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.