Ellison Bayan
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Say you discover a room with an event, and the event ends up moving your character out of that room. If there is another icon on the tile to resolve on discovery of that room, do you still trigger/resolve that icon even if the event was first and you moved out of the room? If the icon reveals a card that also has an "on discover" effect such as changing a stat when you reveal that card (such as most
Spoiler (click to reveal)
inhabitants
), does that effect still have an effect on you?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Curtiss Cox
United States
Arlington
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
This exact situation happened to us. Since the rules say to resolve the icons left to right, we ruled that the Player would move to the new location and then the Inhabitant was moved to the location of its icon but had no effect (since the player was not there).

Then the player resolved the icons on their newly placed location as usual.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Daviau
United States
Unspecified
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
You resolve icons left to right. If an icon moves you off a tile (almost certainly an Event), then stop looking at your old tile and only resolve icons on the new tile. So, if an inhabitant would appear on the old tile, it does not and you do not interact with them.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin Goodman
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmb
Would this mean that the Collapsed Room would never resolve the animal inhabitant then because it always immediately moves you off the tile and to the basement when you first discover it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JustinG87 wrote:
Would this mean that the Collapsed Room would never resolve the animal inhabitant then because it always immediately moves you off the tile and to the basement when you first discover it?


This is not comprehensively stated in the rulebook, but per earlier Daviau posts, you resolve all icons before any room text.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.