Hide
11 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Gaming with Kids

Subject: Game for kids centered around doing chores rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Cleveland
msg tools
I spent one year developing a game with my three boys that centered around doing chores. Each kid did chores, earned virtual currency called "Bot Coins", then used the bot coins to purchase robot Mech parts and upgrade their Mechs. The kids then did "battles" with their upgraded Mechs against enemies, which consisted of a light war game on a "battle board".

It was a huge success in our household and the kids learned all manner of new skills around the house and I had fun doing it with the kids. And it kept the interest of all three kids (6, 8, 10) for over a year.

Has anyone ever used or played anything like this? I am considering turning it into a commercial software application (I am a software engineer). I was unable to get the costs down for manufacturing a physical system, so am considering software as an alternative. Other products on the market somewhat similar are EpicWin and Habitica. However, I learned from working with the kids that they much preferred our Chore Bots system over those products.

I have built a software prototype that allows switching between a sci-fi theme, a fantasy theme, and a pirate theme. And am now basically looking to see if it might be worth it to develop a commercial product.

Is there anyone out there who might be interested in such a product?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A Balley
United States
Iowa
flag msg tools
mb
I think this is a cool idea. I have spent many hours grinding to level up in RPGs (one could make the case that games like the first Final Fantasy or the first Dragon Warrior consist almost entirely of grinding). I have always found the process tremendously satisfying, even if it can be dull or repetitive. I could see a child being more willing to engage with chores if they are a path to leveling up.