Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Axis & Allies» Forums » Rules

Subject: Official Axis and Allies FAQ rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rory Madden
United States
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
mb
We at Game Table Online (www.gametableonline.com) asked these questions while we were developing an online version of Axis and Allies for Wizards of the Coast's upcoming gaming and social networking website, Gleemax. When developing an online version of a popular board game, a level of precision is required that often isn't necessary for normal play; we need to be able to correctly accomodate all possibilities of play, even those rare situations that might come up only once or twice over several games. These answers came directly from Wizards of the Coast and should be considered official rulings. We at Game Table Online hope you find them helpful in future games of Axis and Allies.

Frequently Asked Questions for Axis and Allies

Anti Aircraft Guns:

Q: When planes are getting shot at by anti-aircraft guns, is each die roll assigned to each specific plane before they are rolled or does the owner of the planes choose which planes to take as casualties?

A: You roll 1 die per attacking aircraft; for every roll of "1" an attacking unit is destroyed (and the attacker controlling the planes chooses casualties for their units).

Plane and Carrier Movement:

Q: If a particular defending plane started a battle on a particular carrier, must it land on that carrier at the end of the battle if it can?

A:Yes.

Q: If a particular plane started a battle on a particular carrier and that carrier is destroyed, what happens to the plane? The rules illustrate an example where a plane moves to a carrier in an adjacent sea zone. Is this possible or is the plane destroyed?

A: This was a change to revised edition. Defending planes at sea that survive their carrier sinking can retreat a distance of 1, either to an adjoining land mass or a carrier that has room to land in an adjacent sea zone. These defending planes move during the non-combat movement phase.

Q: After a fighter defends in a sea battle, is it obligated to return to the same carrier it launched from (or can the defending fighters be re-distributed after combat)? If that original carrier is dead, is it required to land on another carrier there or can it choose to fly up to one space away to find safety even if other carriers with space available are present after the battle?

A: Defending fighters at sea who have lost their carrier must land in that sea zone, either on another carrier or an island or adjoining land mass in that sea zone.

Q: If a fighter is moving into combat and needs a carrier to come within range for it to land, you are required to specify that carrier's movement up front. Can you choose a combat zone for the location that carrier will move to (but since it actually moves during the non-combat, it would arrive after the battle)? What happens if that battle is lost (the rules state you have to complete that carriers move...but you also can't move into combat on the non-combat phase normally)?

A: It is illegal to move your aircraft to a combat position where they cannot land from. The rules don't require you to specifically state where each plane will land prior to the non-combat step however. If the planned landing carrier cannot reach the spot required for the planes to land (i.e. if the attacker fought and lost a sea battle in the province the carrier was planned to move to), then the fighters cannot land and are destroyed.

This would rarely come up during normal play but a possible scenario is outlined below:
The US sends a plane from Western United States to destroy a land unit in Hawaii, which is currently controlled by Japan. Japan also has several sea units in Sea Zone 52. Since the plane is moving three spaces to get to Hawaii it must be able to land on Sea Zone 52 in order to go through with its attack. The US player declares that they will send sea units to battle sea units in Japan and declares that they will move an Aircraft Carrier from Sea Zone 53 to Sea Zone 52 in the non-combat move phase to pick up the planes that are attacking Hawaii (perhaps they really don't want to risk losing the Aircraft Carrier by moving it into combat). However, the US loses its battle on Sea Zone 52, leaving Japan with sea units in Sea Zone 52. Thus the Aircraft Carrier cannot move into Sea Zone 52. The plane, with only one movement left, has no legal place to land is destroyed.

Plane Movement After Combat

Q: If a defending fighter is moving to another territory after combat (because its carrier was destroyed and it is landing on an island within that sea zone), can it move to a territory that has an unresolved combat that will take place during the same player turn? If so, does it participate in the defense of that territory as well? If it is not participating, can it be taken as a casualty in that battle?

A: A defending fighter which moves to another territory after combat, moves during the non-combat move phase, so there is no interaction with other attacking units.



1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua O'Connor
United States
Chicago
IL
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Glororhan wrote:

Q: If a particular plane started a battle on a particular carrier and that carrier is destroyed, what happens to the plane? The rules illustrate an example where a plane moves to a carrier in an adjacent sea zone. Is this possible or is the plane destroyed?

A: This was a change to revised edition. Defending planes at sea that survive their carrier sinking can retreat a distance of 1, either to an adjoining land mass or a carrier that has room to land in an adjacent sea zone. These defending planes move during the non-combat movement phase.

Q: After a fighter defends in a sea battle, is it obligated to return to the same carrier it launched from (or can the defending fighters be re-distributed after combat)? If that original carrier is dead, is it required to land on another carrier there or can it choose to fly up to one space away to find safety even if other carriers with space available are present after the battle?

A: Defending fighters at sea who have lost their carrier must land in that sea zone, either on another carrier or an island or adjoining land mass in that sea zone.


Isn't the seocond answer contradictory to the first? The first says the plane can move one space if carrier is destroyed, the second says the same defending plane must land in the same sea zone or a land mass inside that sea zone. Which is correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The first answer is correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Morgan
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
I think that the second one is meant to say that if there is space on a second carrier in the same sea-zone the plane must go there, otherwise it can move to an adjacent area (as in the first answer).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nope, the second answer is just wrong, and it doesn't really answer the question. After defending in a sea battle, fighters must return to their original carriers. Doing anything else would constitute movement, which isn't allowed when it's not your turn.

The only exception to this is when the original carrier no longer exists. In this case, movement is allowed in order to save the fighter as described in the first answer.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Now that I've looked at this again, there are a couple of other wrong answers:

Glororhan wrote:
Anti Aircraft Guns:

Q: When planes are getting shot at by anti-aircraft guns, is each die roll assigned to each specific plane before they are rolled or does the owner of the planes choose which planes to take as casualties?

A: You roll 1 die per attacking aircraft; for every roll of "1" an attacking unit is destroyed (and the attacker controlling the planes chooses casualties for their units).

According to the official FAQ, this is wrong. From the FAQ:
Quote:
Is anti-aircraft fire targeted against specific aircraft?
Yes. In practice, you can roll a handful of dice against all enemy fighters, then roll another handful against all enemy bombers. The reason for this rule is so that bombers will be forced to take hits from AA guns.



Glororhan wrote:
Plane Movement After Combat

Q: If a defending fighter is moving to another territory after combat (because its carrier was destroyed and it is landing on an island within that sea zone), can it move to a territory that has an unresolved combat that will take place during the same player turn? If so, does it participate in the defense of that territory as well? If it is not participating, can it be taken as a casualty in that battle?

A: A defending fighter which moves to another territory after combat, moves during the non-combat move phase, so there is no interaction with other attacking units.

This is based upon the fact that plane movement after combat is handled completely differently in the on-line version than it is in the actual rules. In the rules, planes move to land after combat immediately after each combat. In the on-line game, this movement is done in the noncombat movement phase as described above.

Larry Harris (the game's designer) ruled on this situation in the following way:
Quote:
A fighter based on a defending carrier that is destroyed in combat must try to land. It must land on a different friendly carrier in the same sea zone, move 1 space to a friendly territory or aircraft carrier, or be destroyed. If it moves 1 space, the movement occurs after at the end of the combat that involved the fighter, before the attacker's next combat begins. The movement may not end in a contested territory or sea zone (one that has had or will have a combat resolved in it this turn).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.