Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Betrayal Legacy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Item interaction question [spoilers] rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tim G
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Sorry for poor formatting - on mobile.

Spoiler (click to reveal)
We have a character with the Seer calling and the Sphere of Amber Otherworlds item. The Sphere of Amber reads "Instead of rolling dice on a trait roll, you may bury this card to choose a number from 0 to 8. Use that number as your result." The Seer Calling reads, "Before you make a trait roll, you may predict your result. If you roll that result, add 1 to it."


Can those two cards be used together?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Curtiss Cox
United States
Arlington
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Reibello wrote:
Sorry for poor formatting - on mobile.

Spoiler (click to reveal)
We have a character with the Seer calling and the Sphere of Amber Otherworlds item. The Sphere of Amber reads "Instead of rolling dice on a trait roll, you may bury this card to choose a number from 0 to 8. Use that number as your result." The Seer Calling reads, "Before you make a trait roll, you may predict your result. If you roll that result, add 1 to it."


Can those two cards be used together?


The Sphere specifically says “instead of rolling”, so I would think not.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct - one says "instead of rolling," the other says "when you roll." If you don't roll, it can't apply.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Stewart
United Kingdom
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ATT_Turan wrote:
Correct - one says "instead of rolling," the other says "when you roll." If you don't roll, it can't apply.


Neither says "when", let alone "when you roll". If you're going to base a ruling on interpreting the wording, try to use the correct wording, particularly when the text is already quoted in the thread.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Neff
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mb
Reibello wrote:
Sorry for poor formatting - on mobile.

Spoiler (click to reveal)
We have a character with the Seer calling and the Sphere of Amber Otherworlds item. The Sphere of Amber reads "Instead of rolling dice on a trait roll, you may bury this card to choose a number from 0 to 8. Use that number as your result." The Seer Calling reads, "Before you make a trait roll, you may predict your result. If you roll that result, add 1 to it."


Can those two cards be used together?


Yes, you may use those two together to get a one time 9 on any trait roll.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.