Patrick
United States
Saint Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Btȝ patrem nrum, Benedictum
mbmbmbmbmb
I have CCA + Exp 1-3, have had it a long while but only played a little (solo is my only option). Want to get Medieval now but can't justify with 50 odd (60 odd?) unplayed CCA battles.

So how can I get this to table more often/faster? What are some solid, fast-playing scenarios that will give me a good feel for the system? If I get more comfortable w ththe rules I think my eager 6 yo will be interested in trying it out.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick
United States
Saint Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I guess I should add I'd prefer to start with the base game as that's all I have stickered. I'm happy to try fan-made scenarios if they fit the bill so to speak

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fred Ernst
Netherlands
Schiedam
Z-H
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I just started playing the Alexander battles from expansion pack 1. Starting at Granicus you can play 5 scenario's following Alexander's conquest. That feels like a bit familiar although I didn't know the battles well. I watched old school youtube video's about the battles like from this channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UComXnN88_kKnF7wIQgq4vIw , slow short but clear. There are more modern alternatives of-course. It helped me getting far more interested in the battles and also helped me understand the why and how of the units a bit better.

Another small tip. You can lay the block down on one side which saves on applying stickers 50%. It looks better (for me) solo when they are like that. (but I fully applied all the stickers). Also I started making sure that Auxiliary units are put down in another formation than he regular light units. Lets say blocks pointing forwards and the others pointing sideways (both two blocks high).