Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

The 7th Continent» Forums » Rules

Subject: Campfire rule rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mickey
Singapore
flag msg tools
Twilight struggling to find time to play
badge
Twilight struggling to find time to play
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Haven't been playing for a while. Started a new game over the week-end, and I am very sure there is a special rule related to movement and campfires.
For the life of me I can't find that rule anywhere in the rulebook.
Help ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erik Burigo
Italy
Belluno
flag msg tools
designer
badge
“Don't try the paranormal until you know what's normal.” - Granny Weatherwax
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That rule is on the character cards themselves:

"If you move to a terrain card where there is an explorer or fire figure [spend 1 less card]."
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mickey
Singapore
flag msg tools
Twilight struggling to find time to play
badge
Twilight struggling to find time to play
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you. Silly me.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erik Burigo
Italy
Belluno
flag msg tools
designer
badge
“Don't try the paranormal until you know what's normal.” - Granny Weatherwax
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Heishiro1976 wrote:
Thank you. Silly me.
You are welcome.
I wondered why they had put that information on every character card instead of as a general rule.

But I think they tried to make all options explicit and visible during the game, thus avoiding the need to check the rulebook once the base mechanic has been acquired.

Also, if I remember correctly, in the second wave there is a character card representing a pair of people that is meant for solo gaming and has a different rule.
(I wasn't remembering correctly.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Spirio
Austria
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Painkeeper wrote:
Heishiro1976 wrote:
Thank you. Silly me.
You are welcome.
I wondered why they had put that information on every character card instead of as a general rule.

But I think they tried to make all options explicit and visible during the game, thus avoiding the need to check the rulebook once the base mechanic has been acquired.

Also, if I remember correctly, in the second wave there is a character card representing a pair of people that is meant for solo gaming and has a different rule.
(I wasn't remembering correctly.)
you remember correctly
They get the bonus also when they move to the balloon

Also the solo char has different movement rules
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sid Rain
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
And I think I've forgotten that rule everytime now, despite it being right in front of my face.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James
United States
McDonough
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also, each player involved in the action can apply their own "spend one less" listed on their card. So, if three people are travelling together back to a campfire, that would be -3 actions card drawn.

Daughter and I got this wrong initially and were only doing -1.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Gjertsen
United States
Acworth
GA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
sjliver wrote:
Also, each player involved in the action can apply their own "spend one less" listed on their card. So, if three people are travelling together back to a campfire, that would be -3 actions card drawn.

Daughter and I got this wrong initially and were only doing -1.

Pretty sure you were doing it right, initially. The -1 only applies to the active player. If the movement icon were in brown, then all involved players could chip in their bonuses. That's the way I understand it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Spirio
Austria
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It’s brown.
You get -1 per player, so it’s better to move in a group and return to a campfire then to go alone and come back to the group
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The white action you are taking in this case is the one on the terrain card itself. The effect on the characters is brown and thus each involved character can apply their ability.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls