Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Shane Conaty
Ireland
Greystones
County Wicklow
flag msg tools
Hi all,
I'm trying to make a game, (aren't we all), and I wanted to base it on an old rpg I made, a wod mod, however... In that game I had figures from history and literary characters in the game, no problem for a home brew tabletop rpg, but when it comes to transferring that to a board game... Does anyone know where I'd stand with old characters?
I'm thinking of frankenstein, the island of Dr. Mareau, Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde, that sort of thing. It seems Warner brothers hold the screen rights to frankenstein etc... But who owns the board game rights? And is it worth my time chasing down this rabithole.

Many thanks all, just checking stuff out

Shane

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Harper
United Kingdom
Wantage
Oxfordshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I am not a lawyer.

There's a lot of material, like those you mention, that are in the public domain, which means that you can pretty much do what you want with the source material. Basically, if a book is on Project Gutenberg, it's almost certainly up for grabs; fill your boots.

HOWEVER, be very careful of material that has been added later. If you use anything from movies or TV you will probably end up using "live" IP, and translations may be an issue, along with illustrations, etc. Also, some people or organisations may have trademarked terms that would otherwise be available, so watch out for that.

Take the Cthulhu mythos as an example; the writings of HPL are in the public domain (as I understand it), but the mythos has been extended by other writers, whose works are not in the public domain, so you need to be careful of what you take from there. In addition, the name "Call of Cthulhu", while it is the title of an HPL story, it has been trademarked and cannot be used in the realm of games without risking a legal challenge from the mark holder.

Good luck!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide