Dérek Boily
Canada
Québec
Quebec
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

Long story short; I'm thinkering with retheming* a simple card game (High Society, in this case) using art assets from a video game (Spelunky HD, in this case). This is mostly done to improve personnal skills, but also to enjoy a nice game with graphics I like.

I'd really like to use the custom font used in the video game for the game text on the cards. So far, I managed to determine that the game use something called a bitmap font, which is a font that the game can read. It is a combination of two files, first a ".fnt" file, which is basically a text file listing the characters of the font, and the second is a ".dds" file, or an image file containing all the image of characters.

Is there any way to use these two files to create a font with a "readable" extension...? Something windows would detect as a valid font file (.ttf or something). I'm no expert at all, but I'd listen to any suggestion; my google-fu skills have failed me to provide with any sort of solution.

Thank you very much!

*The retheme will be for personnal use only and I don't intend to distribute the final files.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
K H
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I dug around the net and found no tools that would do it directly. What I found instead is enough information to know it will be a pain to do manually. You are starting out with a bitmap (raster) font. I think you already know what this means, but for those playing along at home I will explain.