1 Player guild» Forums » General

Subject: Buying a Pledge rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alex
Canada
flag msg tools
badge
So I have the option to buy a pledge. It's good timing as it will be shipped soon and it's one of those games that will be expensive to get in the future. Plus it has been getting good reviews.

I've never done this before though. It seems to me like the whole transaction is entirely based on trust. And by the way if the seller is reading this please take no offence to this inquiry to the guild! Also the seller does strike me as being upfront and trustworthy.

So how does it work? You send the money and they change the pledge, shipping address and send you a confirmation when it locks down? I suppose that's all you can do. Would paypal offer any sort of protection?

Thanks!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hoopder
United States
Durham
North Carolina
flag msg tools
I'll always pick the archer
badge
I had and have a wholly unsatisfied desire to shoot well with a bow. -J.R.R. Tolkien
mbmbmbmbmb
Paypal offers protection on anything you are purchasing through it, from what I understand. Without knowing exactly what game you're talking about and what process they want you to go through, I can't really say much else.

Usually these sorts of things have a pledge manager they can give you access to, or a website where you could conduct your transaction.

Edit: I did not catch that this was a private transaction between two users. In that case, what I said about Paypal should still apply, but will simply echo the others below by saying, "Of course this is entirely based on trust."
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig Groff-Folsom
United States
Grand Rapids
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Since there is no exact standard for Kickstarter fulfillment, there really isn’t a formula for this.