Popular Tags: [View All]
James Fung
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
('Sum of its Parts,' formally 'As I See It,' are game reviews that spotlight game mechanics and how they work for or against the design. They are written from the perspective of a gamer short on time and attention span, who would rather spend that time and mental energy having fun and making key decisions rather than bean counting or fiddliness. Therefore the review spotlights innovative, clean, and elegant mechanics. I play both eurogames and wargames, but since eurogames tend to be well reviewed in BGG already, I'll be mostly be reviewing wargames.)

Introduction

As an engineer, I pride myself in my analytical abilities, i.e. breaking things down into its component subsystems, understanding how they work and interact, to better understand the whole. This also applies to games and game mechanics, which is why I'm always going on about how mechanics are king (and components are just icing on the cake). Thus, I have a (inflated) belief that I know how a game will play after reading the rules, maybe after a short session.

But in the case of Friedrich, I was wrong. Dead wrong. So if you're like me, get off your high horse and play the game before you pronounce final judgement. Despite the playing cards and square sector grid labeled with suits, this is a wargame. A light wargame, to be sure, but I've been drifting in that direction for some time.

Oh, right, I should actually talk about the game. Friedrich is a strategic-level game of the Seven Years War in Europe, pitting Prussia and Hannover (and English subsidies) against Russia, Sweden, Austria, and France. Fellow Americans know this as what started the French and Indian War. Other countries know this as the war that established Britain as the premiere colonial power and Prussia the rising continental power, to the detriment of the traditional powers France and Austria.