Daniel Karp
United States
Rockville
Maryland
flag msg tools
admin
Developin' Developin' Developin'
badge
100 geekgold for OverText, and all I got was this stupid sentence.
mb
So you want to paint your War of the Ring set

By Daniel Karp

I recently painted my copy of War of the Ring. I was a complete newbie when I started, but I got a lot of good advice from other users here on BGG, and learned a lot more along the way. Painting these figures was a lot of fun, but it definitely isn't for everyone. I thought I’d compile all of my thoughts and advice for other people who want to try to do the same thing. So, here is what to do if you want to paint your copy of War of the Ring (or some other game with a huge number of plastic miniatures).

Section I: deciding to do it

1. Don’t do it. Really. It isn't worth it. It is a lot of work, a whole lot of work. Now, I'm not talking about just spray painting your figures so that you can tell them apart--by all means, go ahead and do that. For the purposes of this article, painting refers only to the real deal--painting your figures by hand with details in multiple colors so that they look really good. It's almost certainly not worth doing--stop reading now, and go do something fun--play the game or something.

Do you still want to do it? OK...