Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Pursuit of Glory» Forums » Rules

Subject: Minor Gripes..but still a great game rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
james zajicek
United States
henderson
Nevada
flag msg tools
OK...have learned much from this game...
but when starting knew little about this part of the war game world....

1. In game terms ....what is Persia....??
Terminology includes a nice definition of Balkans...why not Persia??

my answer.(obvious now?) is
All spaces in Aberbaijan, Persia(Neutral),Arabistan, and the 3
Persian Regions...Eastern,Central and Southern..

2. Where is Persian Gulf...not printed on map

3. Where is Red Sea..not printed on map

4. The BR ANA special 222 unit....why the box around the movement 2 ?
as i understand it..this unit can move anywhere....correct ??

5. The BR PER Cordon 111 units... why NOT a box around the movement 1 ??
these units are limited in movement...only in Persia

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Thomas
United States
California
flag msg tools
mb
dellchili wrote:
OK...have learned much from this game...
but when starting knew little about this part of the war game world....

1. In game terms ....what is Persia....??
Terminology includes a nice definition of Balkans...why not Persia??

my answer.(obvious now?) is
All spaces in Aberbaijan, Persia(Neutral),Arabistan, and the 3
Persian Regions...Eastern,Central and Southern..

2. Where is Persian Gulf...not printed on map

3. Where is Red Sea..not printed on map

4. The BR ANA special 222 unit....why the box around the movement 2 ?
as i understand it..this unit can move anywhere....correct ??

5. The BR PER Cordon 111 units... why NOT a box around the movement 1 ??
these units are limited in movement...only in Persia



Re #4, I'm pretty sure the ANA is limited to Syria/Palestine.

Re #5, they have that "P" on the right hand side signifying limited movement (like the "B" on the Balkans-only units).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) Yes, that is Persia
2) The Persian Gulf is the sea area in the east of the map which Bahrein is in the middle of.
3) The Red Sea is the sea area to the south of the Sinai, comprising 2 inlets, one leading up to Suez and one leading up to Aqaba.
4) The ANA can only be rebuilt in ports in Syria/Palestine, is only in supply in Syria/Palestine/The Hejaz and may not be moved with SR.
5) Persian Cordon units can be moved with SR. They are restricted to Persia/Baluchistan/India by the P symbol.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
james zajicek
United States
henderson
Nevada
flag msg tools
hmm..probably right...just didn't see anything in the rules pinning
the ANA anywhere...3.2.1.3 didn't mention it

and why not movable with SR ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
See rule 3.2.2 "Unit Symbols of Special Significance"

An important section of the rules for severeal reasons, notably its adding a significant extra clause to the Turkish War Weariness event.

In this instance we're looking at "Units with a rectangle around their movement rate are in supply only within a limited area (see the unit's description and can never use Strategic Redeployment " (Italics in original)

Admittedly the ANA's description doesn't specify the limited area involved, but it is logically the same as the other Arab Revolt units.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Hope
United States
Woodside
California
flag msg tools
badge
Likes: Mountains, Tundra Turn-offs: Serpents, Marsh
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can the ANA GO to the Hejaz? I thought there wasn't a railroad all the way to Mecca.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The ANA doesn't need a railroad to move normally (of course, it cannot use SR). You are correct that the railroad stops at Medina, but that doesn't stop the ANA, which can move either from Medina to the Hejaz or from Jiddah to the Hejaz, in both cases along a path marked A/T, that is an Arab and TU/TU-A only path. What the Ana could not do is enter the Hejaz from Bair using the path marked A, which is only for non ANA Arab revolt units.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
james zajicek
United States
henderson
Nevada
flag msg tools
just realized....confusion on Persia came due to save tiflis card
which refers to 'Azerbaijan,Persia, and Turkey....' implying
that they were different....Azerbaijan is part of Persia..
..
maybe it meant Azerbaijan, Neutral Persia...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.