Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: Wargame [+] GMT [+] [View All]
Sean Chick (Formerly Paul O'Sullivan)
United States
New Orleans
Louisiana
flag msg tools
designer
Fag an bealac! Riam nar druid ar sbarin lann! Cuimhnigidh ar Luimnech agus feall na Sassonach! Erin go Bragh! Remember Limerick! Remember Ireland and Fontenoy!
badge
Well, I'm afraid it'll have to wait. Whatever it was, I'm sure it was better than my plan to get out of this by pretending to be mad. I mean, who would have noticed another madman round here?
mbmbmbmbmb
I've been thinking of doing a set of reviews that illustrate how certain games simulate particular historical realities. One reason is that I'd like to write about why I like games such as Wilderness War, but seeing several good reviews currently devoted to the game, I feel I would not be adding anything new beyond my historical commentary. So here is my first review of this sort, and if it flies I'll do more of these. I must add I am not an expert on this war, but I've read a few books and I think I am qualified to make a few comments.

The Units and How They Interact
Indians, rangers, and coureurs des bois can ambush against line infantry, which vary from to colonial militia to Highland infantry, that lack these irregular troops. However, infantry are needed for sieges and are powerful in pitch battles, having a greater combat value. So the game encourages integrated armies, which was a vital lesson the British learned the hard way

Leadership Problems