Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David McDonald
United States
Madison
Alabama
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry if this is a re-post. Yes, Im a noob...

Thanks to Philomars for reporting AA25 on Target store shelves. I went out yesterday and picked one up (North Alabama). Other than AA Europe, I have not purchased any other AA game since the original way back in the early 1980s. So after playing the revised edition online and discovering that I had missed out on AA50, I was excited to get a new version. I have yet to play the game but here are my initial thoughts:

1. The board is actually slightly larger than the original but the playable space is smaller becuase of the IPC chart at the bottom. I understand the AA50 board is much larger but unless they reprint it Im pretty much out of luck.

2. The board spaces are skewed a bit in some areas but the borders are still the same as the revised edition. From the looks of the size of the spaces, crowding is going to be an issue - especially in Europe and sea zones. Also, since the board is colored more like a map rather than a gameboard, the borders between territories are kind of hard to see.

3. As youve heard there is no money. Big whoop - I can split the cash from my original and have more than enough for both. Or just use pen and paper. There also is no tray to keep your units in. Ok, this is a gripe. Seperating all of the pieces by color before the start of each game does not sound like fun. It does seem that they cut a lot of corners this go around.

4. I like the cruiser unit. The more units the merrier as far as Im concerned. In most cases the initial set up has substituted a cruiser for a destroyer with one notable exception (see next point). This is good because it maintains the balance from the previous version. For example, the destroyers in sea zones 20, 35, and 50 are now cruisers. Cruisers cost 12 and destroyers are now 8 but destroyers now attack and defend at 2.