Popular Tags: [View All]
Arno Quispel
Netherlands
3263 RH Oud-Beijerland
Unspecified
flag msg tools
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
On the website of Paolo Santos (Portugal), an interview with Xavier Georges, designer of the coming game Carson City by QWG Games, will be published. This website is: http://dreamwithboardgames.blogspot.com.

Here is the text of the interview:

"
My name is Paulo Santos. I have a blog, where I make reviews and news about the board games world - http://dreamwithboardgames.blogspot.com/

I made a few questions that I hope you can answer.

How did you come up with the idea to create Carson City??

I am an architect engineer and I have worked in urban planning for several years. It is also the first theme I look for in games: a game where you are building "something like a city" in interaction with other players. But, regardless of the quality of existing games, I must say that the feeling of building a city is not always very realistic or present.

Where do you get the ideas for your games? Do they start with the mechanics, or the themes?

It depends on the game. For Palais Royal, the mechanics came first, and the theme changed several times during the creation process. For Carson City, my intention was to create a game simulating the building of a new city, with a grid plan. Historically speaking, a lot of cities developed with a grid plan, but an early Western city theme particularly appealed to me. So that is what I chose to focus on.

What kind of mechanics do you prefer to focus on the development process of your games?

I try to develop games that offer a wide range of actions and strategies to the players. I try to let players be free to do what they want, and give them the possibility to act in very different ways.

Which level of luck is acceptable for you in a game?