United States
Herndon
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Guess the games in my uberbadge!
badge
My favorite game is Cosmic Encounter.
Microbadge: Cosmic Encounter fanMicrobadge: Cosmic Encounter - I like PurpleMicrobadge: Cosmic Encounter fanMicrobadge: Cosmic Encounter fanMicrobadge: Cosmic Encounter fan
Ever since I started playing Doom, I've played more games with my kids than with grown-ups, and with the kids I have to be the Invader (and I tend to pretty much destroy the kids, no matter what advantages I give them). So, I wanted to have a way to play Doom as a totally cooperative game- it wasn't too difficult to devise, but I did create some decks of cards on Artscow to handle some of the set up for areas and randomization for the game.

External image

External image

Decks are available here:
http://www.artscow.com/gallery/playing-cards/doom-coop-invad...

http://www.artscow.com/gallery/playing-cards/doom-co-op-setu...

The way the Cooperative game works is by using maps that have randomly assigned contents. I created several maps using Doom Edit, and instead of placing the Invaders and other goods on the map, I just put numbers.

External image

In these scenarios, the Marines have a digital readout of the base, so they know generally where to go... but they don't know what's in the unexplored areas, nor where the key cards are (other other scenario items, like the Self Destruct Turn Off).

When you enter an area, you draw an Area Setup card. Whatever is listed as item 1 on the card is placed where the 1 is on the map, and so on (so using the Set Up card above, you would place Zombies on spaces 1, 2 and 5, an Imp on 3, shells on 4, etc.).

If an area of the map is numbered above 10, you simply re-use the card (1 is 11, 2 is 12, etc.). The cards were created specifically to be re-implemented in this way. Some cards have an X on one of the numbers, which means that area does no progress beyond the X on the Area Setup card.