Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Call of Cthulhu: Collectible Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Clarification needed about "Choosing Targets" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Patrick Jamet
France
Paris
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Story card from the Eldritch Edition :
Shadows of Nephren-Ka
---------------------
Icons : TCAI
Game Text: Each player discards his hand.
Collector's Info: EE F246

From FAQ, page 3 :
« (v1.2) Player Hand: A player only has a “hand” if said player has at least one drawn card not currently in play. Thus, if a player does not possess at least one unplayed drawn card, he does not have a “hand” for the purposes of triggering effects, paying costs or being targeted by card effects that require having a “hand.” »

From FAQ, page 1 :
« (v1.8) Choosing Targets: A player cannot trigger a card effect that requires him to choose a character, support card, or story card if there is no such card to choose.[…] Further, a player cannot trigger a card effect that requires him to choose a certain number of targets if there are not enough valid targets available. »

So, as strange as it seems, if a player does not have a hand, he cannot trigger the effect of « Shadows of Nephren-Ka ». Is it correct?

In the same way:
Parables of the Faceless One
----------------------------
Icons : TCAI
Game Text: Each player must choose and shuffle one of his won story cards into the Story deck (except Parable of the Faceless One)
Collector's Info: EE F245

If a player has won no story card except « Parables of the Faceless One », he cannot trigger its effect.

Things are even less clear with « Throne of the Black Pharaoh » and « Voice of Thunder »:

Throne of the Black Pharaoh
---------------------------
Icons : TCAI
Game Text: Each player draws 10 cards.
Collector's Info: EE F249

Voice of Thunder
----------------
Icons : TCAI
Game Text: Each player sacrifices all characters he controls.
Collector's Info: EE F250

Is it possible to trigger these effect if one player has less than 10 cards in his draw pile, or no character in play respectively?

I’m confuse. Thanks for your help.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Long
United States
State College
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Fly Eagles Fly!
badge
The Cthulhu player, not the Football player.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just for the record...

Pyjam wrote:
« (v1.2) Player Hand: A player only has a “hand” if said player has at least one drawn card not currently in play. Thus, if a player does not possess at least one unplayed drawn card, he does not have a “hand” for the purposes of triggering effects, paying costs or being targeted by card effects that require having a “hand.”


This rule was made up for a very specific situation that arose in Arkham edition that had to do with Hastur discard effects pre-errata.

Pyjam wrote:
« (v1.8) Choosing Targets: A player cannot trigger a card effect that requires him to choose a character, support card, or story card if there is no such card to choose.[…] Further, a player cannot trigger a card effect that requires him to choose a certain number of targets if there are not enough valid targets available. »


And this rule was originally created so that someone couldn't trigger Opening the Limbo Gate if their opponent didn't have a character in the discard. It was then further expanded later on after a number of questions without good answers occurred.

It is, in my opinion, the stupidest rule they ever made. And the second sentence didn't show up until after the first two blocks were out for quite some time, so it interacts poorly with a ton of existing cards, which you've pointed out. It was not thought out well and really shouldn't be there, but that's a different argument.

So based on the exact wording of the rules...

Pyjam wrote:
if a player does not have a hand, he cannot trigger the effect of « Shadows of Nephren-Ka ». Is it correct?


You are correct. This is of course not the intended effect, but if you go by the rules precisely, this is true.

Pyjam wrote:
Parables of the Faceless One
Game Text: Each player must choose and shuffle one of his won story cards into the Story deck (except Parable of the Faceless One)


Once again, you are correct. This will only work if both players have a story other than Parables. Which is definitely not the intention of this card, and makes it near worthless.

Pyjam wrote:
Throne of the Black Pharaoh
Game Text: Each player draws 10 cards.


If both players don't have 10 cards, then you can't trigger it.

Pyjam wrote:
Voice of Thunder
Game Text: Each player sacrifices all characters he controls.


This one actually still works as written. "All" is a special meaning word which can be any number, including none. So since it says "all", it can still be triggered even if one player has no characters.


Let me just say that I do NOT recommend playing the game in this manner. It really seems like rules-lawyering and it is definitely not how the cards were intended to be played. Its just set up that way through a series of poorly thought out wording choices and FAQ revisions.

I personally never played the story cards that way, and we never played them that way at the World Championship tournaments.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Jamet
France
Paris
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I do agree that these two rules sound quite deficient to me and we'll ignore them.

Thank you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.