Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David G. Cox Esq.
Australia
Port Macquarie
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Do what you can, with what you've got, where you are.
mbmbmbmbmb
The Russian Campaign (4th Edition)
The War in Russia from Barbarossa to Berlin

A Historical Simulation for Two Players
Playable in Six Hours
Designed by John Edwards
Published by L2 Design Group (2003)

I have been playing The Russian Campaign since 1980. I have played the Jedko, Avalon Hill and L2 editions of the game. As a veteran of these countless campaigns in Russia, I have many stories that I could relate - however, I will try to limit myself to just three.

In the early 80's I had a regular wargame opponent. We had a series of weekends where we played TRC. On one of these we had been playing almost six hours. I was the German and he was particularly slow. I had captured Moscow and Stalin was in Archangel. I sent a large Axis force towards Stalin. ray asked why. I told him that there were automatic victory conditions - if I held Moscow and killed Stalin I would win. To my surprise he did nothing to protect Stalin. I killed Stalin and claimed victory. Ray said that the win didn't count because they were silly victory conditions - from memory that was actually the last time I played Ray.

In the late 80's I was practicing for a tournament to played TRC against Bob. We used a chess clock as they would be used in the tournament. Bob takes his time making his moves - I suspect he is searching for perfection. On this occassion I took less than 30 minutes while Bob took over nine hours. The highlight of the game was when Bob asked, after taking nearly an hour to make his move, if he could move his pieces bakc and do it all again - even though I had a good book to read my answer was still no.