Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Commander Harris
Netherlands
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Background
I consider myself to be week, a wannabe geek. I’m an obsessive BGG lurker, but don’t play many board games. I do extensive research on games I might like only in the end to decide not to buy them.
Although I’m not just a lurker who’s only board gaming enjoyment comes from reading BGG. There are exceptions and I have some gaming background. I’ve played LotR: Risk, Axis and Allies, Wings of War and War of the Ring. Although I haven’t played any of them extensively, as I’m only occasionally find people willing to play those games with me. The game I play most is a drinking game where you pass around an imaginary ball and I’m getting scared at how good I’ve become at it, so I thought it was about time I grabbed a proper game to play.

Internal purchasing conflict

Quite a bit of internal struggle has gone on in my head to decide whether or not to buy the game. Obviously I bought it, but the discussion with myself might help other people in there decision.

As you can tell I like wargames, or maybe war-themed games maybe a better term. As not to offend anyone’s view on what a wargame actually constitutes. I’m also very much interested in WW II and I find both the western and eastern front fascinating. The fact that CC:E featured both the eastern and western front was very appealing to me. Often games like these only feature one or the other; with this game I can not only satisfy my inner German (which nearly all ETO WW II game let’s you do), but also my inner American and inner Russian. There’s no denying we all have them lying somewhere hidden in our heads. Also this being a 2-player game ensures I only have to find one person crazy enough to play a board game with me.