Popular Tags: [View All]
William Springer
United States
Brooklyn
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
First off, a little background. I don't like a lot of luck in my games; very few games in my collection even have dice. As you can imagine, I almost never play wargames.

So why am I trying this one? I am, alas, a completest; since I have a treefrog subscription I insist on having all the games in the series, and I also hate having games I haven't played. Having gotten Waterloo and Gettysburg so far, I decided to take them in order..

What's in the box
This being a Treefrog game, the box contains a board, a rulebook, and a bag of wooden pieces (also a cloth bag, some plastic bags, and, thankfully, two player aids). You get four types of playing pieces (cavalry, artillery, infantry, and leaders) in a variety of colors, a number of cubes to represent damage, action disks, dice, square markers (to, simply enough, indicate that infantry are in square formation), and some numbered tiles that I'll discuss later.

The scenario
At the start of the game (noon), the allies are heavily outnumbered by the French forces (all the blue pieces) and are primarily fighting a defensive battle until reinforcements arrive. At 3:00, the Prussians will start showing up, but until then, the allies are hard-pressed. (Actually it's not as bad as all that - I count 52 French pieces and 38 allied pieces - but it sure feels like it!) Additionally, until 4:00 the French player gets more action disks, so he has more flexibility in what he can do (and the possibility of taking a lot more actions - more on that later)

How things work