Chris Montgomery
United States
Joliet
Illinois
flag msg tools
Dear Geek: Please insert the wittiest comment you can think of in this text pop-up. Then times it by seven.
badge
The Coat of Arms of Clan Montgomery - Scotland. Yes, that's a woman with the head of a savage in her hand, and an anchor. No clue what it means, but it's cool.
mbmbmbmbmb
Hellenes: Campaigns of the Peloponnesian War:
Asymmetry and Clever Mechanics Combine for an Elegant New Design

Introduction

Craig Besinque -- the famed designer, most noted for the EastFront, Westfront, MedFront, EuroFront series of games -- has released his latest game design, a block game on the various campaigns of the Peloponnesian War. The game is called Hellenes: Campaigns of the Peloponnesian War (hereafter “Hellenes”) and like many block games, it is easy to learn but hard to master.

For those not familiar with the conflict (and I am by no means an expert), the Peloponnesian War was a battle between two warring city-state leagues: the Delian Leauge, led primarily by the economically powerful city-state of Athens, and the Spartan League, led by militarily powerful city-state of Sparta. Corinth (the economic rival of Athens) became embroiled in a diplomatic issue with Athens over the status of Corinth’s colony, Corcyra. Athens, seeing an opportunity to expand its league and put mud in the eye of Corinth, backed Corcyra. Corinth didn't take the snub lying down. Instead, Corinth plotted a revolt in Athens’ distant former colony, Potidea. Athens moved swiftly to crush the Potidean revolt. Corinth then used Athens’ siege of Potidea to argue to the Spartan League that Athens was, essentially, growing too big for its breeches and threatened to make all of Greece an Athenian hegemony. Sparta backed its ally, Corinth, and the Peloponnesian War began.